Ford Mustang Forum banner

Army Soldier need some advice

1K views 14 replies 15 participants last post by  bluegt08 
#1 ·
So i am a soldier in alaska. I have a 2006 ford mustang gt. Good news is tires are new and the car only has 30k miles on it.

Guess what i am going on a journey to michigan and then to california. Total of 7000k miles i sadly have to put on my car.

What things should i do before i go? Transmission fluid is bright red so no worries there, coolant looks in good condition, i am replacing the spark plugs with 1 piece just because its better to do it now, tires have been replaced, oil has been changed to mobil 1 synthetic, brake pads and rotors have been replaced, fuel filter has been replaced.

Anything else?

#2 ·
I don't see anything you omitted in your preparation. Take the common emergency roadside essentials and drive safe and enjoy the travel.

#5 ·
I'd check the hoses also.

Pete

#6 ·
Check your spare tire and carry a plug kit with you with a 12V outlet air pump. Your car is 11 years old. Odds are, even if you have the spare, it's flat.

#7 ·
Bring a new serpentine belt and a set of sockets. Always handy to have if your belt happened to break. Other than that, AAA card...

#9 ·
Not clear where you are going from ??

In the lower 48 nothing to worry about.

If you are going through Yukon Territory, and BC, you'll most likely be encountering gravel, rocks, etc. These things damage front end paint, sometimes land on the hood, often damage windshields. Worst part is when local pickup truck drivers can't stand the slow traffic of the motor homes...so they pass everyone and their tires throw more rocks. So if you see one of these behind you, wanting to pass, pull over to right as far as possible. Most driving in these areas, tourists don't pass, as it's useless...just more motor homes/trailers ahead. It's like...take your time and enjoy. Not a place to make time as you'd do on lower 48 freeways.