Ford Mustang Forum banner

2005 Mustang GT rear end gear wear

3K views 16 replies 5 participants last post by  killerplanet 
#1 ·
I need some help with my rear gear whining problem. Do the wear patterns on these gears look OK? Please let me know what you think. Thanks

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Rear end whining is generally caused by the backlash on the gears being set incorrectly. If you have a way to check the backlash, that would be a good place to start. Replacing your fluid is another thing to try after you've verified backlash is set properly.

After replacing my gears, they whined a little. After 500 miles I replaced the fluid and the whining dropped significantly. After 10,000 miles and replacing the fluid once more with 3 quarts of Royal Purple 75w140 (comes with friction modifier in the bottle already) I don't hear it anymore at all.

As for wear pattern, I am no expert on that. So I don't know!

#4 ·
Does anyone know if the wear pattern is the final once-and-for-all determinant of whether the gears are set right in evey way; or is it possible to have a good centered wear pattern and still have incorrect set-up?

To the OP -- it is hard to tell from the photos; and usually a shop will die a few teeth and then create the pattern so you can really see it; but they do seem fairly well centered. However the wear seems to be covering the entire tooth and I'm not sure what that means. I am not an expert on this; all I know is when I had my gears changed, they whined; so I took it back and the shop checked the wear pattern with die on the teeth; and the wear marks were about 2/3 of the width of the tooth and pretty much centered in the middle of the teeth. They said that was as good as it gets . . . . and the gears still whine.

and no, I did not read stlwagon's link, that might explain it!

#5 ·