Ford Mustang Forum banner

N/A mods with FI

1K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  sqidd 
#1 ·
So I'm new to this mustang ownership and gas engine modifications, i have only modified my trucks diesel engine. Anyways, I am looking at mods for my 4.6l and most seem to be directed towards N/A power add on. Although down the road i would like to add a Department of Boost kit to my 06 GT and dont want to waste time or money on parts that may not work well or benefit much with FI. So i was curious as to what mods work and dont work well with a blower, such as cams, throttle bodies, etc. Thanks for any help and advice.

#2 ·
I hear NA cams don't work well with a blower, you need to get the kind specifically for FI applications, but the FI cams dont work well with NA engines, and throttle bodies are pretty much pointless and so is a new intake manifold. Mods that go good with a blower would be Charge Motion Delete Plates, Long Tube Headers. However, you will reach the safe max 450whp with a stock car with the DOB kit, so IMO if you're gonna boost, go ahead and upgrade the suspension and tires so you can hook up when you get the power, it will also help a ton at the drag strip even with the stock engine.:nerd:

#4 ·
Ok this is very helpful thank you, I just have a few questions. What are charge motion delete plates? What are good suspension upgrades for these cars? The basic like shocks, struts, sway bars, etc? Anything specific these cars benefit from? Thank in advance.

#3 ·
down the road i would like to add a Department of Boost kit to my 06 GT and dont want to waste time or money on parts that may not work well or benefit much with FI. So i was curious as to what mods work and dont work well with a blower, such as cams, throttle bodies, etc. Thanks for any help and advice.