08 Mustang GT - 1st Budget Friendly Upgrade - Ford Mustang Forum

Like Tree6Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 78 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017 Thread Starter
Rookie

08 Mustang GT - 1st Budget Friendly Upgrade

Just got my first mustang this month - 2008 Ford Mustang GT 4.6L.

I am totally new to the mustang scene so I am looking for advice on what would be most peoples first budget friendly ($500 ish) upgrade?

The car is a joy ride so will not be a daily driver, etc. I have already had it serviced - needed new ball joints so had those replaced. I also put new tires and replacement wheels on it. Otherwise it's totally stock other than it has some sort of aftermarket hood on it.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	GOPR1258.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	592.7 KB
ID:	564073  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 78 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017
PONY Member

That's a clean looking ride. Congrats.

As for mods, what is your main focus with the car? Do you want it to corner harder, or accelerate faster?

If it was my car I'd be looking to do a gear swap or a midpipe + tune of some sort.

2007 Mustang GT/CS coupe
Procharged--cammed--Kurgan tuned--coilover suspension
post #3 of 78 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017
SHELBY GT 350 Member
4.6L Member
S197 Member

The first thing that comes to my mind is louder mufflers. That is assuming that you'd like to enjoy the sound of that wonderful V8 a little more.

Mufflers, also known as "axle back" are an easy do-it-yourself installation; and can be had anywhere from $200-$500 for the pair. The only hard part is choosing them because the sound clips that you can find on the net do not sound like they really sound in person.

One way to attack this: watch your local Craig's List for deals, and go for whatever comes up that sounds good and is cheap! People are modding these cars all the time so there is always a steady flow of stuff on Craig's List; you just have to be patient until the stuff you want comes up.