#1 ·
Valvoline synpower
Castrol magnatec
Castrol edge
Mobil1
Royal purple
Quaker state full syn
Pennzoil platinum

OMG I am going absolutely crazy with all the options!!!!

I went down to Napa today to pick up a new oil filter P/N 1372. And I was going to pick up some Mobil1 because I had finally made the decision to switch from a Motorcraft synthetic blend based on all of the things I have been reading here on the forum. I walk in and I get talking to the guy behind the counter who has been working at this particular NAPA store for 35 years (not corporate owned it is privately owned by a family that lives here in town). He was talking to me about the Valvoline synthetic oil, they make Napa brand oil for their full synthetic I was wondering if anyone here can give me the rundown on the best oil to put in my GT. I have never used full synthetic before so I'm not really sure which one is the "best". Any help would be greatly appreciated.

#2 ·
#3 ·
Have a look at this site - days and days of reading about oil and filters etc.
Bob Is The Oil Guy | The Internet's Number One Motor Oil Site

I just buy name brand synthetic like Castrol, QS, Mobil 1, etc. and change it more often than recommended along with a WIX filter. I had a 96 Jeep with 240,000 miles on it and it didn't burn oil between changed so something must have been OK with my method.

#4 ·
Yep, like you said, it's just oil. The Valvoline or the NAPA or the Mobil-1 all would be fine. If you really want to know what is "best" you can read all the test data that is out there; but bottom line is you really don't need "best" you just need "pretty good."

Personally, I like Mobil 1 Extended Performance because it is a true synthetic and available at Walmart for about $28/5 quarts. Works for me.

#5 ·