Ford Mustang Forum banner

Coolant change on 2011 GT

24K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  Beechkid 
#1 ·
My car is mostly a garage queen and only has about 35k on it. I want to change out coolant just due to age and to replenish the chemicals in it. Figured I would drain the radiator and pull the lower hose to get some out of the block. How much coolant do I need to have on hand to refill?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 ·
Take it to the dealer as they have the proper equipment to do a complete flush. I don't usually take my car to the dealer but this is one thing thats worth the $125. After 6 years you are smart to change it out. I would also consider flushing the brake fluid. Thats one you could do yourself as its not a messy job.

#5 ·
I've never paid a dealer to change coolant before. In fact I do 95+% of my automotive work. That's going to be a tough pill to swallow.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I was a mechanic for 35 + Years,but I just took my 2011 GT into Ford to have the system totally flushed,things have changed in the automotive world,and its not worth the MESS, and get rid of the old antifreeze + you get all of the old coolant out.It is a bitter pill for me also, but well worth it.

#6 ·
Depends on if you think you need a full flush or not. The coolant in my 2011 looked pretty good last year when I replaced it so I just did a drain and fill.

I removed the petcock at the bottom of the radiator and drained about a gallon out. I didn't drain the block. That's about a third of the total capacity.

I bought 2 gallons of Dexcool concentrate and mixed with 2 gallons of distilled allowing me to do 4 drain and fills total (I drove around between each drain and fill to allow the new stuff to mix with the old). If you do the math on the mixtures it comes out to most of the total coolant being replaced.