Ford Mustang Forum banner

what am I doing wrong, throttle body replacement

4K views 36 replies 8 participants last post by  145566 
#1 ·
I'm no mechanic but putting a throttle body on is not hard surely but what am I doing wrong.
Put a 75mm throttle body and plenum on my 96 2 valve, drove to the shop and up pop's engine light. I've disconnected the battery and did the whole reset thing but drove her again up pops the engine light. Checked and rechecked everything, so tonight I've reinstalled the 65mm factory throttle body leaving the new plenum and going fine. Only thing I miss is the throttle reponse from the 75mm. Help can someone tell me how I can get the 75mm to work or is stang just not keen on the bigger airflow?.

#5 ·
This.

These cars don't require any special tuning for throttle body/plenum upgrades, although doing so will maximize the benefits of said upgrade. Other than that you should not be getting any check engine light. I ran mine for years without a tune and had absolutely no issues, and many here could probably say the same thing.

S197's on the other hand (2005+ Mustangs) do require tuning for even so much as a CAI, but that's neither here nor there....

So, if you can post what code you were getting then we can go from there. Not very important, but may as well mention what tb/plenum combo you went with.

#8 ·
Bull S. A larger TB isn't letting in enough air to cause the sensors not to read properly. After the air passes the tb it gets crammed back down again once it reaches the heads. TB's don't make power, they "support" it. I bet he has a vacuum leak after installing the plenum.

Pickers- One step of above a hoarder.

#6 ·
Incorrect. 70mm is the highest you should go on stock motor no matter what plenum. 75mm is a setup when you want to get the max air for throttle response with a lot of horsepower. 75mm TB's do require a tune. Anything that messes with air/fuel ratio is going to throw off a sensor. Trust me, it's the TB. It needs a tune.