Ford Mustang Forum banner

1996 GT without fog lamps

2K views 12 replies 8 participants last post by  SoCal2V 
#1 ·
I just purchased a amazing looking 1996 5 speed in Bright Tangerine. Two issues I've found 1) Its an "e" code rear axle which according to what I've read is a 3.27 rear. but I thought that was only an option with an automatic (3.08 option with the 5 speed) and 2nd it has no fog lights, not in the bumper or a switch. I thought that was a standard option. The car has all original paint and all the fenders have tags. I'm new to this model Mustang Thanks in advance for an information

#2 ·
AFAIK The fog lights are part of the GT package. The only Mustang that came with no fogs standard was the base (V6) version. Are you sure your car is a GT?

#3 ·
Yes 100 percent sure I checked the vin on a few different spots. 4.6L engine, correct quad shocks etc etc The car only has the two coin holders. I've been in the hobby over 40 years (since 16 years old) and have seen some "not in the book" things on cars. Everything looks 100 percent stock including the paint ( Very nice original ). Accept for A/C it has zero extra cost options. The only thing added is the 3.27 E code rear axle. Even in an accident the repair shop would reinstall the fogs lights and for some crazy reason they didn't why remove the switch remove the single coin holder then get and install a duel coin holder...and cut the harness wires so cleanly it would look like they were never there? Love this color LOL.

#5 ·
There was a budget version of the GT available in 1996, I forget the window sticker coding of it - it was like "231A" or something like that.

Anyway, these cars were built with no fog lamps and also had manual hand-crank windows. Think they may have also come with the base model (V6) cloth seats.

Maybe you have one of those cars?

#7 ·