Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

New 1993 Mustang Owner! How reliable is a 2.3 engine with 109,000 miles?

10K views 17 replies 14 participants last post by  harrist7 
#1 ·
I am looking to buy this 93 2.3 convertible great shape. I am new to the mustang world and ford 2.3. How is the engine, block and head? It has 109000 mi. Car has been well maintained, what should i look for before purchasing this car.

Thanks
kbarb

#3 ·
I reecently bought a 92 Mustang convertible with 2.3L engine and 121,000 miles on it...is in excellent condition and very well maintained.

I had a couple of old Pintos with the 2.3L and a Ford Courier Pickup with the 2.3. My brother-in-law had a Cougar with a turbo 2.3L. All were super vehicles with great little engines. Of course, MPG is pretty good.

One of the Pintos was a station wagon that I drive over 225,000 miles and never had an issue...the body was rusty, but it ran lilke new. I sold it to a teenager down the street for $100 and he drove it a long time after that.

A coupe I had alwasy used a quart of oil every 1500 miles...never could figure out why and it never used any more or less...city, hiway, stop and go....nothing made a difference. Still, I have well over 100,000 on it when I traded it and it ran fine.

The turbo Cougar threw a rod at 90,000, but he drove it like he stold it all the time...I was supprised it lasted that long...ha

#4 ·
How reliable is it? With 109k it's just starting to break in! Seriously, 2.3's are bulletproof. Most of mine are and have been turbos. My '87 TC was at 175k and still going strong, my '88 TC was at 200+ and starting to wear out. My current '86 TC is at 168k and in top notch condition! My N/A '89 Mustang was at 140k and running great when I took it off the road to drop in a turbo motor. Many guys are waaay over 200k. I've even heard of a couple at 300+! Like I said, bulletproof!

G
#5 ·
I pulled the much-abused 2.3 out of my 1974 Ford Mustang II last year....