What is the best way to prepare the metal for painting after soda blasting? - Ford Mustang Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-14-2010 Thread Starter
Classic Member
Smile What is the best way to prepare the metal for painting after soda blasting?

Hello, all!

Newbie here again. I am nearly complete in soda blasting the engine compartment on my Mustang. As anyone with soda blasting experience knows, soda blasting does not eliminate rust. It gets rid of the barnacles, but not the discoloration nor the active layer of rust (maybe there's a better way to express that?). I realize many of you will chastise me for my choice of soda blasting, but spare me - please! It's too late for that. Orbital sanding in the engine compartment is not my idea of a good time. Once I got a dessicant dryer and some practice, it moved along fairly well (you can actually peel away a single layer of paint at a time!).

Now I have exposed the metal and all the rust beneath the paint. My question is - how to treat the rust? I have been using "Evapo Rust" by the gallon for rust removal on parts, but it isn't a gel and it doesn't cling. Most things have to be soaked over night in Evapo Rust, then dipped in clean Evapo Rust and air dried (to prevent flash rusting). I also have "The Must for Rust" a spray on product that suggests it can be applied, allowed to dry, and painted over (I am skeptical about trying this on anything larger than a quarter).

What are the best practices for this? I have read about dilute vinegar washing, but that doesn't deal with the rust. In your response, please address all three parts - washing/neutralizing the soda, rust treatment/removal, and priming.

Thanks! I have read a number of postings and you guys/gals are very insightful!
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 02-15-2010