1966 Mustang Ignition timing and fuel mixture setting. - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010 Thread Starter
Rookie

1966 Mustang Ignition timing and fuel mixture setting.

Hi guys,

Car: Mustang '66 with a 302.

I'm back. I have 2 questions right now. I did a little work on the distributor point, also replaced dist. cap and condenser. Also I replaced the gaskets on my carburetor again, seems to be working good now (no leaks).

Question #1. Since i did some distributor work, should I check the timing and or set it. If so, how do you set the timing. I've never done it before and you know of a site that gives you step-by-step instruction with pictures would be greatly appreciated.

Question #2 Since i changed the gaskets and fiddled with the fuel mixture screws should I check this with a CO2 meter? Problem is I dont have a RPM gauge in the car so how do you set those mixture screws properly? Also need a step-by-step instructions on that.

Question #3 I cleaned the pint on the distributor, should this be checked with a feeler gauge and the dwell angles? If so how is this done?

Any help is appreciated. The car runs alright at the moment. But the idle seems a little clunky.

Rafael
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-26-2010
GT Member

I can't go into detail on all your questions, as I would end up writing a book, and I'm sure other forum members would have issues with my methods of setting ignition timing, so I'll just keep it simple. I have a '65 with a 302, so I know exactly what you are dealing with.

#1 Yes. But before you attempt to make any adjustments, you need to check the dwell angle and make adjustments there if necessary. Dwell angle must always be done before timing. I go by the 289 spec of 26-29.5 degrees. You will need a tach/dwell meter.