Hey i just recently put up my car for sale. (You can check the classified here) and Ive been getting a lot of e-mail responses. However, they all seem very suspicious in that they want ME to go to another website to get insurance rates. Well it seems stupid that they want ME to fill out my personal info, when my rate won't effect their insurance rate. I could be wrong but I think its a scam and wondered if any of you have experienced the same thing. Here is what im talking about and the website link asks for personal info.
Hey there, im interested in your vehicle but i need to know how much
auto insurance is going to cost on it.
Go to the link below, fill out the specs on your car etc. It will give
you quotes and stuff totally free, i want to see what im expected to
be paying with this vehicle. Soon as your done give me the quote
prices, etc.
I've never heard about this before. But I would stay away from doing anything like that. The interested buyer should just call his own insurance company and get an estimate. Your rates shouldn't have anything to do with his rates.
dont fill out that form, he might be trying to get some personal info from you. that link dosnt look like a real link. tell him to get lost or call them himself. its not up to you to do that or give out your info for it.
__________________
1993 lx hatch, 5 speed, all stock except k&n air filter and flowmaster mufflers
Yep sounds like total caca del toro. Every time I think about buying a car I call my insurance agent and all she wants is the year, make, model and gives me a quote. Also dont take any money orders or cashiers checks. And avoid like the plague anyone who uses a gmail address.
__________________
06 Vista Blue Premium GT, Automatic, CDC Shaker Hood System, Pioneer AVIC Z2 DVD/ Navigation System with Rear View Camera, Rear Window and 1/4 window Louvers, CDC Classic Chin Spoiler, SHR Honeycomb Panel, Stainless Tail light Bezels, FRPP Stingers, 3D Carbon Side Scoops, C&L Street CAI, SCT X2 W/ 93 Street-Race Tune, Sequential Turn Signals, CDC Hood Struts, TCI Street Fighter Shifter
Have a quick question, I viewed your post, want to know if your
vehicle is still open for sale. I was curious if you could tell me
what the insurance expense is because I went on www.autolinecarinsurance.info and got one of their 20 second quotes,
you just need to select your state and put the car model and it will
give you the quote and it seemed very high for your auto, so I really
need to know if it is really that high. Let me know.
Thanks,
Mitchell
SCAM... Theres another one, I was selling my 03 Isuzu Rodeo a few years ago, I had it listed for $10,000. I had a guy from "overseas" wanting to export it and said he was going to send me a check for 13,000 and to cash it and send 3,000 to the "exporter" in new york when I live in florida and keep the $10,000 for myself and he would have someone come pick up the car. Knowing it was a scam, I agreed and they sent me a 13,000 check. What they want you to do is cash a false check against your account and send them money, once the bank catches up with you, you owe them the 13000 back, well guess what you just sent joe shmo 3000 bucks, guess who has to pay that. You. I knew it was a scam so I got the check in the mail and kept it as a suvenier. HAHAHA...Never heard from them after I recieved the check. WHo sends a check for that much to someone with out ever meeting them or anything. And I got alot of emails from people trying to do that. I just told them if they want to come look at the car great if not, I am not intrested. I still have the e-mails saved from years ago. Its funny.
__________________
"Nitrous Oxide is like a hot chick with an STD. You want to hit it but you are affraid of the consequences."
91 GT convert. GT40P's, Off Road H-PIPE, Flowmasters, 4.10s, posi rear, welded subframes, 70mm TB, TFS Stage 1 cam, 155lph holley pump, Cobra intake mani, ford racing headers, Allum. Radiator, No smog, Freashly rebuilt......
SCAM... Theres another one, I was selling my 03 Isuzu Rodeo a few years ago, I had it listed for $10,000. I had a guy from "overseas" wanting to export it and said he was going to send me a check for 13,000 and to cash it and send 3,000 to the "exporter" in new york when I live in florida and keep the $10,000 for myself and he would have someone come pick up the car. Knowing it was a scam, I agreed and they sent me a 13,000 check. What they want you to do is cash a false check against your account and send them money, once the bank catches up with you, you owe them the 13000 back, well guess what you just sent joe shmo 3000 bucks, guess who has to pay that. You. I knew it was a scam so I got the check in the mail and kept it as a suvenier. HAHAHA...Never heard from them after I recieved the check. WHo sends a check for that much to someone with out ever meeting them or anything. And I got alot of emails from people trying to do that. I just told them if they want to come look at the car great if not, I am not intrested. I still have the e-mails saved from years ago. Its funny.
That's very similar to what someone tried to do to me a few years ago when I had an add out for a roommate. Got a response from a supposed British girl who needed a place to stay for 3 months in the summer while she did the tourist thing. Why not right? Sounded harmless.
We exchanged a message or two to confirm and then she tells me her uncle just sent me "the check". Oh...but wait....I HAVEN'T EVEN GIVEN YOU MY ADDRESS YOU IDIOT! Don't know what's worse, people trying to scam you or developmentally challenged people trying to scam you.
__________________
2006 4.0 Mustang
Pony Package
Vortech V2 Supercharger Non-Intercooled @ 12 PSI
Snow Performance Stage II W/M Injection
Accel Super Coil with MSD Wires
Flowmaster A/T Axleback
Autometer Gauges
Pioneer Head Unit
I just got same thing for my '59 Ford on Craigs list:
"Hey, I saw your post selling your vehicle, I'm interested but first i
need to know how much insurance is going to cost on the vehicle, and
would also like some more details. Go below and give me the free
quotes, select no current insurance since I dont have any at the
moment Its the cheapest place I found for auto insurance, could be
even useful for yourself aswell, I am going to use it for my new
vehicle." <link to vehicles4.onodot.com>
I looked up the domain "onodot.com" . Here's a short description:
"Onodot is a free URL forwarding service (a.k.a URL redirection) allowing anyone to hide url, take any existing URL and shorten it..."
SCAM-SCAM-SCAM!!!
Saw the posts and joined your forum just to help out...