Ford Mustang Forum banner

How to stay focused on skills versus car?

3K views 28 replies 9 participants last post by  Urambo Tauro 
#1 ·
I am fairly new to the track game (about 10 hours actual track time so far, plus all the class time that goes with it) but feel like I am running up against the limitations of the car quite often.

I know I should be focusing in skills to squeeze out the most possible from the car; but can't help getting a little frustrated and wanting to just go faster when I am getting passed. This leads to thoughts of better tires, engine, brakes, etc. . . . .

Suggestions on "mind games" or whatever it takes to deal with this?

Practice routines or thought training that can be used in the off season?

Other thoughts / suggestions / ideas?

thanks in advance

#2 ·
Start taking lap times. See where you're at and where you should be compared to others in your class/type car. Look at the track and determine the turns that are costing you time, try to determine why and try different approaches to reduce that lost time. Work on braking later. It took an American Iron race driver to do a ride along to teach me how to brake later. We instinctively want to brake early, due to driving on the streets for years. Gotta learn a new mindset when road racing and it takes practice, patience and nerve. Approach it a little at a time till you are comfortable and find your braking limit. Let a faster car pass you, then try to stay with him/her. Watch their lines, when they brake, etc... What's helped me the past 2 years to get ready for TT, is taking lap times and working on troubled turns where I know I can go faster and work on later braking. If I know other cars like mine are turning in faster lap times, then the problem is me and I can work on that by analyzing each run and every once in a while, have a racer do a ride along...we pick up or revert to old habits easily, so having another driver point things out, kinda wakes us up.

#4 ·
thanks for all this!