Home » Mustang Parts » Drivetrain
96pro50_shifter.jpg
333945050.jpg

    Next Product
Power Tower Shifter by Pro 5.0
Reviews Views
8 9438
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers $213.64 4.9
96pro50_shifter.jpg


96pro50_shifter.jpg









Description: The Pro 5.0 shifter for manual transmission is a shifter designed to help out in positive shifts and eliminate the damage that can be created by the stock shifter. This shifter is manufactured from superior quality billet materials. The 2nd to 3rd offset shift mechanism makes shifting to 3rd a breeze. Available for Ford Mustang T5,T45,T56, and Tremec Transmissions.

For more information visit: http://www.pro-50.com/
Registered User
 
Posts: 610
Registered: April 2002
Location: Thunder Bay



Author
GT50

Registered User

Registered: April 2002
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 610
Review Date: 6/26/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Nice firm postive shifts
Cons: Can be hard on the hand if shifting hard through the gears.

After reading about the Pro 5.0 shifter and it's positive results I had to have one. It is made from a billet aluminum base and there are two handles available for them. A must if drag racing your car to eliminate overshifting that may cause damage to your shifter forks in your transmission. I have it in my car and love it. Installation was about an hour with basic hand tools.

------------------------------
Frank Andricciola
work hard, play harder!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit GT50's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/1/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: SHORT THROW
Cons: takes a little getting use to, cause it is truly what it says

A great product. But no matter how extensive your experience in manuals, be ready, this thing is just what it says, Short Throw. Takes some getting used to like any new shifter, but you will learn to love this.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
4thtimestang
Rookie

Registered: March 2003
Location: Beltsville
Posts: 50
Review Date: 7/2/2003 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $179.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: NONE
Cons: Clanky, hard to shift, not a short thow

had one put in at xmas and i hate it. Hard to shift, clanky and definetely not very much of a short throw. wish I had bought a Triax. who knows, maybe i just got a bad one. Had it installed by a shop, maybe they did'nt do it right?

------------------------------
2000 Laser Red GT. MAC cold air, MAC 3 1/2 inch exhaust, PRO 5.0 shifter, March underdrive pulleys, various MGW interior parts, 17x9 Ford SVT Cobra wheels w/Nitto 555's 275x40's, 3.73 FRPP
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit 4thtimestang's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
95mustanglover

Made Member

Registered: March 2003
Location: Wilmington
Posts: 426
Review Date: 7/7/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $200.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Looks Good Has Stop Bolts
Cons: Harder To Slide Into Gears

I Like It Cause I Cant Miss A Gear And Yea Shorter Throw Is Alittle Clanky When U Jam Into Gears
Stop Bolts Make Clink Sound When U Hit Them And 5th And Reverse Are Alittle Weird Almost Like They R Farther Away

------------------------------
1995 Mustang GT 5.0 HO
Mods: March Under Drive Pulleys, BBK CAI, MAC Full Length Headers & Hi-Flow H-Pipe With Cats, Flow Master 2 Chambers, BBK Caster/Camber Plates, Ebiach Sportline Springs , KYB Gas Adjust Shocks & struts, K&N Filter Charger, 180 degree thermostat, 3:73 FMS, Catapult Trailing Arms, BBK 255Lbph And Adjustable Regulator, Gripp Subframes, Cobra RR Hood, Red Top Battery, Pro 5.0 Shifter, Zex 75 Shot System, 1/4 Inch Wheel Spacers Rear, M&M 6 Point Cage
Plans Stroke It And
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit 95mustanglover's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
dreamer

Apprentice

Registered: August 2003
Location: Middletown New Jersey
Posts: 52
Review Date: 3/12/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $179.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quick to get it ingear.
Cons: Heve to reach forward a little as I like my seat towards the back.

I love the short throw. The clank it can makes between gears just sounds wonderful. With this shifter, you know you have a manual transmission ready for action. I have not missed a shift yet. With the stock shifter I was grinding gears. This is saving my transmission in the long run. It is a lot of fun to play with just idle at a light as well.

------------------------------
Dreamer (Only the strong survive)
2003GT5SCOUPE (Black)
K&N Air Filter, silencer remove
FRPP 4:10
Pro 5.0 Short throw shifter, Hurst T-handle
Magnapack Catbacks
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit dreamer's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
hmarv347

Made Member

Registered: August 2002
Location: Summerville
Posts: 1316
Review Date: 4/5/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $184.85 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quiet, Short Throw
Cons: 5th and reverse are harder to shift into.

I've owned the steeda tri-ax in my Gt and this shifter is much better and quieter then the steeda. This shifter if installed correctly is as quiet as stock. I teamed mine up with the Steeda Tri-Ax handle and it is a much better feel then the Pro5.0 handle.

------------------------------
2004 DSG Mach 1 w/IUP 5 speed (Born on Date: 10/09/03)
Dyno - 1/28/04 (1300 miles)K&N Drop-in Filter, SAE - 273.8 rwhp 302.5 rwtq
Dyno - 3/6/04 (3400 miles)K&N AirCharger, SAE - 282.5 rwhp 312.6 rwtq
Dyno 4/22/05 304rwhp 326rwtq
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit hmarv347's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
TOMMYSTANG

Rookie

Registered: November 2003
Location: Short Hills, New Jersey
Posts: 2
Review Date: 7/14/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Good shifter feel
Cons: Sometimes it seems harder to shift than others. Takes a while to get accustomed to.

WHILE THE PRODUCT SEEMS VERY STURDY , THE OCCASIONAL BALKINESS TAKES AWAY FROM THE OVERALL QUALITY

------------------------------
2003 Redfire Cobra Coupe
Pro 5.0 Shifter w/ MGW Stick
Borla Stinger
K & N FIPK

"YA' GOTTA KICK 'EM OUT!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit TOMMYSTANG's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
El Diablo

Rookie

Registered: August 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 24
Review Date: 8/4/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $189.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Shifts firm,accurate
Cons: Handle is little short

Love it !!! The shifter is great and you can\'t miss 3rd gear at all. This is the first mod I would put on a new car IMO.

------------------------------
http://www.mustangmods.com/data/1159...0image0001.jpg

2001 Mustang GT 5 speed

BBK LT ceramic headers, BBK OR H-pipe, Slp catback, Lakewood 70/30 struts,Lakewood 50/50 shocks,Eibach drag springs, Granatelli upper & lower control arms, 3:73 gears, March underdrive pulleys, C&l 80mm maf, C&l inlet pipe, C&l plenum, BBK 75mm throttle body, Pro 5.0 shifter, SLP line lock, Bullet pedals, Saleen style chrome wheels 18 x 9 fronts & 18 x 10.5 rears,Nittos 555 245/40/18 275/40/18
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  





Mustang Photos
Mustang Links    Top Sites    RSS    Link To Us    Add to Favorites    Archive    Terms of Use    Site Rules    Privacy    Contact    Sponsors    Advertise   
AllFordMustangs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company. ©Copyright 2002-2011 All Auto Enthusiasts Network