Home » Mustang Parts » Drivetrain
5aluminum_driveshaft.jpg

 
Heavy Duty Aluminum Driveshaft Assembly by Ford Racing
Reviews Views
5 9299
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $166.00 6.4
5aluminum_driveshaft.jpg


5aluminum_driveshaft.jpg









Description: High strength, 3.5" diameter 0.114" wall thickness 6061-RT62 aluminum seamless drawn tube. 1330 U-joints 45.5" long (CL to CL of U-joints).

Application:
Part Number: M-4602-G fits 1979-95 Mustang/Capri 5.0L vehicles with T-5/SROD/C-4/AOD/, 1979-1993 with Tremec transmissions and 7.5 or 8.8 axles.
Part Number: M-4602-J fits 1996-98 Mustang and Cobra 4.6L with manual transmission.

For more information visit: http://www.fordracing.com
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,688
Registered: February 2002
Location: St. John's



Author
StalkerStang

Senior Member

Registered: April 2002
Location: Surprise
Posts: 2192
Review Date: 7/2/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $199.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Lightweight, Quality, Performance
Cons: none

This driveshaft is easy to install, lighter than the stocker, and looks great. It also provided a noticable difference in performance.

------------------------------
Jesse Berger
90 LX, Previous 4 cyl.
408W In the Works
TW FAC's, Jay Allen cam, Super Victor

2001 V6 5 Speed Daily Driver
Windstar Intake, Dual Exhuast, CAI, Headers
Best ET: 15.44@91 mph (on 18's)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit StalkerStang's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Emery

Made Member

Registered: June 2002
Location: Maricopa
Posts: 278
Review Date: 7/24/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $149.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: weight
Cons: no automatic version

149 plus like 20 shipping ($175 with Part, ship, and tax)

After I had my gears installed my mechanic friend (one of those friend things....he was laid off from Ford so I was trying to be nice and give him a days worth of work) forgot to mark the driveshaft. I mentioned it at reinstall and he said...."it doesnt matter".

I beg to differ....I was having a ton of vibration problems that got worse and worse at highway speeds. It took me 4 weeks of waiting for him to have a chance to "look at it". I finally got fed up with rattling around and making all kind of noise and hating to drive my car I ordered a FRP HD Alum DS. I took it to another friends shop and had it installed. It took him about 5 minutes. I went sailing down the road and AHHHH it felt so nice to have no vibration. I was relieved that problem was over.

The automatic tranny guys just have to swap out the spindle (part that goes into the rear end) by disasembling the Ujoint.

If you have any more questions that you need answered about this product....email me at: gulfsidesynthetics@cox.net

------------------------------
Emery Layton

Mustang!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Emery's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
GhostlyStang

Apprentice

Registered: November 2003
Location: Newark
Posts: 148
Review Date: 3/5/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: lightweight
Cons: none as of yet

nice replacement for the heavy stock DS, if you change it put a driveshaft loop in, nice to have if u run at the strip

------------------------------
2004 GMC Sierra 1500 Z71-- Daily Driver
87' 5.0 Notch--
This car is fast enough to hold its own... heh
84' GT Turbo--
In the middle of a complete motor buildup
You may have 600 horsepower, but can u put it to the ground.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit GhostlyStang's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
mccoigk

Apprentice

Registered: November 2002
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 149
Review Date: 6/3/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lighter than stock
Cons: wider than stock so comes close to hitting my exhaust

Removing the 4 driveshaft flange bolts was a pain in the A$$! Finally needed a butane torch and impact gun to get them out. Now that its installed the car seems to accelerate half a hair faster, but it could just be my imagination. I gave this a 9 out of 10 because it would be better if they sent 4 new flange bolts with it....

------------------------------
Sonic Blue 2003 Cobra - Autlogic chip, Magnaflow x-pipe, mufflers, 2.9 inch pulley, CAI
Black 1991 GT - 347 twin turbo 6-speed distributorless ignition - nothing stock
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit mccoigk's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
bdbolling19

Made Member

Registered: September 2007
Location: Port Townsend
Posts: 1465
Review Date: 11/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lightweight, no vibrations
Cons: none

alot lighter than the stock driveshaft, and it doesn't vibrate at high speeds like my stock one did.

------------------------------
If it's not broke, you're not trying hard enough.

1983 Mustang GT T-Top.

New T5 installed, driving my 'Stang again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  





Mustang Photos
Mustang Links    Top Sites    RSS    Link To Us    Add to Favorites    Archive    Terms of Use    Site Rules    Privacy    Contact    Sponsors    Advertise   
AllFordMustangs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company. ©Copyright 2002-2011 All Auto Enthusiasts Network