Home » Mustang Parts » Drivetrain
96king_cobra_clutch.bmp

 
King Cobra Clutch by Ford Racing
Reviews Views
6 16564
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $225.00 5.2
96king_cobra_clutch.bmp


96king_cobra_clutch.bmp









Description: Ford Racing King Cobra clutch is a heavy duty upgrade to your original clutch. With greater clamping force and without stiffer pedal feel, the clutch to consider when it is time for a replacement
Registered User
 
Posts: 608
Registered: April 2002
Location: Thunder Bay



Author
GT50

Registered User

Registered: April 2002
Location: Thunder Bay
Posts: 608
Review Date: 7/6/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: nice smooth pedal feel
Cons: none

I went to this clutch after my "jobber" clutch gave me trouble after only two years of use. I like the fact that it is a heavy duty unit without the greater pedal feel. Being a FRPP unit I know that it is a high quality unit and will last for a long time.

------------------------------
Frank Andricciola
work hard, play harder!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit GT50's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
GTRaptor

SHELBY GT 350 Member

Registered: April 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 5208
Review Date: 7/14/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $225.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Good pedal feel, grabs great
Cons: none

Excelent clutch for a very good price.
I bought the complete kit from Steeda.

------------------------------
Rob Hernandez, AFM co-Founder.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit GTRaptor's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
omaharacer

Apprentice

Registered: May 2002
Location: Omaha
Posts: 220
Review Date: 9/17/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $225.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Much better than stock or factory replacement
Cons: none

After my stock pressure plate went out I decided to replace both the clutch and the pressure plate. The king cobra clutch kit was just the thing to get, not too expensive, and not cheap. It's good to know your clutch won't fail anymore.

------------------------------
2006 Ford Mustang GT. C&L Intake. XCal II. FRPP Stingers. Eibach Pro-Kit. BMR LCA Relocation Brackets. MGW Shifter. 20" Black Foose Nitrous. Meziere eH2O Pump. CDC Shaker Hood Scoop/Billet Grill/Aggressive Chin Spoiler. VISUS Rear Window Louver. SilverHorse Racing Rear Honeycomb Panel/Billet Medallion. Black Turn Signals. Sequential Taillights
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit omaharacer's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
kvn
Rookie

Registered: September 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 40
Review Date: 9/18/2003 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Low cost
Cons: chatters a bit

Switched from a my worn out Centerforce to the King Cobra clutch to save some cash. It is a good clutch for the price. The Centerforce dual friction I was using before was a lot better

------------------------------
92LX hatch, Cobra intake, Accufab 70mm TB, 24lb injectors, Accel fuel rails and reg, 1:72 Crane rockers, Moroso fresh air kit, BBK equal length headers, Off road H pipe, Flo master exhaust, 190lph fuel pump, Mallory billet distributer, Crane HI 6 ignition module and coil, MSD super conductor wires, Under drive pulleys, King cobra clutch, 3.55 gears extra clutches in Trac lock, BBK sub frame connectors, 7 point Strut tower brace, G load brace, Panhard rod, Polyurethane motor and trany mounts, Autometer gauges, Corbeau carrera drivers seat.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit kvn's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
joe blow
Rookie

Registered: August 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Review Date: 9/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Decent price, smooth and easy feel
Cons: Street only

This is the best street-style clutch i've tried, and even friends who drive the car with this clutch are amazed at how forgiving it is (starting in 2nd-feathering).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
kevwashere2
Rookie

Registered: April 2006
Location: Mechanicsville
Posts: 1
Review Date: 5/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have had experience with this clutch in 3 cars now.

1) came with the car.
2) Installed in cousins car with powerdyne supercharger
3) installed in buddys car.

My Opinion, not a bad clutch for street duty.
Pedal to heavy for the limited performance it can deliver
Clutch does not like heat.. at all..

With back to back passes in car # 2, OR if I make a pace imediately after arriving at the track the clutch will slip in 4th.. (3.73's with Khumo street tires) After a good cool down it has grip again, just not when its hot.

Bottom line, you get what you pay for...
(-) Heavy Pedal ( about twice stock)
(+) Its Definitely better then stock,
(+) Its Definitely worth the $170 average price for the kit
However its a street clutch, or a strip clutch for a mostly stock car.

If you are making any real horsepower, or going to beat on it regularly with any kind of traction, spend the extra money, and buy a better clutch...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  





Mustang Photos
Mustang Links    Top Sites    RSS    Link To Us    Add to Favorites    Archive    Terms of Use    Site Rules    Privacy    Contact    Sponsors    Advertise   
AllFordMustangs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company. ©Copyright 2002-2011 All Auto Enthusiasts Network