Home » Mustang Parts » Electronics and Ignition
more
5MSD_pn7220-7.jpg
5msd_pn6462-7.jpg
5msd_pn6420-7.jpg
5msd_pn6400-7.jpg
5msd_pn6200-7.jpg
more

Previous Product    Next Product
6AL Ignition, PN 6420 by MSD
Reviews Views
5 9233
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $250.00 8.0
5msd_pn6420-7.jpg


5msd_pn6420-7.jpg









Description: The 6AL delivers everything the 6A does with the addition of a built-in Soft Touch Rev Control. This feature allows you to set an rpm limit to protect the engine from over-rev damage caused by driveline failure or missed shifts. Other MSD RPM Controls can be connected to the 6AL such as a Three Step Module Selector (PN 8737) or RPM Activated Switch (PN 8950). The 6AL also comes supplied with rubber shock mounts and 3,000, 6,000, 7,000 and 8,000 rpm modules.

For more information visit: http://www.msdignition.com/
Senior Member
 
Posts: 2,729
Registered: February 2002
Location: St. John's



Author
Review Date: 7/1/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing

Every guy I cruise with, no matter what make or model car, uses one of these. I even have a friend who has a pro stock drag car and uses this. All of these people swear by this ignition. It's the one and only and very reliable. The rev limiter is great, it's a great safety option, and you know the old saying, safety first.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DJorgie76

Made Member

Registered: April 2002
Location: Central
Posts: 479
Review Date: 8/27/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: smoother idle
Cons: none

I have had this on my car for a year now. When I installed it the idle got alot smoother and started alot smoother too. I love it and would buy it again.

------------------------------
- Doug
89 GT 5.0 AOD,TFS Street Heat intake,TFS TW heads, TFS stage 1 cam, 1" phenolic spacer, 1.6 TFS RR, 65mm TB,24 lbhr injectors,Kirban adj. fuel pressure reg.,C&L 73mm MAF,PA Street/Strip Valve Body, MAC CAI, BBK shorty headers, off-road h-pipe, 2-chamber Flowmasters, MSD 6AL, MSD coil, 4.10's, 190 lph fuel pump,BFG Drag Radials
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
85snakeeyes

Rookie

Registered: August 2009
Location: Madison
Posts: 43
Review Date: 8/26/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: adjustable rpm controll, tach driver
Cons: pricing, for basic apps i reccomend the streetfire series

used the 6al on my 85 2.3 love the low-end and throttle response it picks up... i recommend all the msd products... i am an absolute msd fiend. easy install.. may be difficult to find a good mounting point unless you relocated your battery already. but great product
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
rick7476

Apprentice

Registered: December 2008
Location: Becker
Posts: 95
Review Date: 10/11/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i bought a 1990 lx 5.0 with a trick flow top end kit and i add a 6al box and love the way it helped with idle and through out the rpm range and the rev limiter works great to
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
martymar1082

Apprentice

Registered: May 2011
Location: polk city
Posts: 161
Review Date: 1/15/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: all
Cons: none

ive got a 6al on my 93 there isnt a stock part on or in the engine and this ignition cleaned up the idle and the throttle response is throught the roof much easier starts the engine may roll over once and its running! if you dont have one get it and the pigtail for mustang makes install a breeze!!

------------------------------
93 foxy gt, forged bottomend. Tfs h/c/rr. longtubes. vic jr airgap holley dp 750. Udp's and more...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  





Mustang Photos
Mustang Links    Top Sites    RSS    Link To Us    Add to Favorites    Archive    Terms of Use    Site Rules    Privacy    Contact    Sponsors    Advertise   
AllFordMustangs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company. ©Copyright 2002-2011 All Auto Enthusiasts Network