Home » Mustang Parts » Fuel and Induction
2992boxes.jpg

 
Performance Filters by K&N
Reviews Views
5 5098
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $42.74 4.4
2992boxes.jpg


2992boxes.jpg









Description: High Air Flow with Excellent Filtration
Designed to Increase Horsepower and Acceleration
Washable and Reusable
Will NOT Void Vehicle Warranty
Lasts up to 50,000 miles before cleaning is required depending on driving conditions
10 Year / Million Mile Limited Warranty
Emissions Legal in all 50 US States.
Economical, a K&N Air Filter Will Last the Life of Your Vehicle
Works with Original Equipment Manufacturer Vehicle Electronics
Environmentally Friendly, K&N Reusable Air Filters Reduce the Volume of Disposable Air Filters that end up in the Nation's Landfills


We Take Air Filters Seriously - For over 30 years we’ve manufactured serious air filters completely unlike traditional disposable filters. Our air filter is designed to achieve high, virtually unrestricted air flow while maintaining filtration levels critical to ensure long engine life. The secret to our success lies in the unique characteristics of our filter medium that was originally developed by K&N all those years ago in the dust, sweat and tears of desert motocross racing. We just wanted to win races and stumbled on a cotton filtration technology destined to be great (by the way there is no truth to the story that the first K&N was made from the blood soaked bandages of a racer left for dead somewhere outside of Las Vegas). Our high flow cotton gauze air filter is washable, reusable and built to last for the life of an engine. The filters consist of four to six sheets of cotton gauze layered between two sheets of aluminum wire mesh. This media is then pleated and oiled to enhance its filtering capabilities and overall performance. The result is an air filter that allows dramatically more air into an engine, is washable and reusable, and will protect your engine for the life of your vehicle.

The Last Air Filter Your Engine Will Ever Need - We warranty our replacement filters for 10 years or 1 million miles. Why would we do such a thing? Because they are engineered to last the life of your engine. We use only the highest quality materials and never compromise. Every 50,000 miles, we recommend you clean and re-oil our filter, then put it back in your engine and it will perform virtually like new.

For more product information, visit their website at: www.knfilters.com
AFM Member
 
Posts: 140
Registered: April 2002
Location: Bowling Green



Author
highway

AFM Member

Registered: April 2002
Location: Bowling Green
Posts: 140
Review Date: 7/3/2003 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $48.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Good for modified engines
Cons: Does not help "stock" engines

The only reason that I give this product a poor rating and won't recommend it is because I bought it for my "stock" '86 GT Hatchback.

After installation, I did not notice any improvement in performance, nor did I notice any improvement in gas mileage (while on long trips).

I even was able to dyno test the Mustang. I had a dyno test before any modifications were ever made to the car. The modification that I made was the removal of the air silencer. I dyno'd the 'Stang with the K & N filter installed then with a paper filter. The paper filter had better numbers than the K & N filter, but only by a small amount.

I am sure that if I had modified the car with a cold air kit, bigger throttle body, worked the heads, and improved the exhaust, that a K & N filter would have made an improvement.

If the car is in "stock" form, I would not recommend spending the money on the K & N filter. If the car has been modified and upgraded, yes, a K & N filter would benefit you.

------------------------------
You are never too old to ride a Pony!
1986 GT
14.45@92 mph (est.) (w/o air silencer)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit highway's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
StalkerStang

Senior Member

Registered: April 2002
Location: Surprise
Posts: 2214
Review Date: 7/6/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quality, Fit, Long Lasting
Cons: none

While not a performance booster to some stock Mustangs, its a great filter if you're due on a air filter. You never have to replace it, and they only need to be cleaned.

------------------------------
Jesse Berger
90 LX, Previous 4 cyl.
408W In the Works
TW FAC's, Jay Allen cam, Super Victor

2001 V6 5 Speed Daily Driver
Windstar Intake, Dual Exhuast, CAI, Headers
Best ET: 15.44@91 mph (on 18's)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit StalkerStang's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
GTRaptor

SHELBY GT 350 Member

Registered: April 2002
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 5207
Review Date: 7/7/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: It really lasts long
Cons: none

No more air filter changes is one of the most possitive aspects of K&Ns. I had mine for around 6 years, and it was first installed in a TBird now in my GT.

------------------------------
Rob Hernandez, AFM co-Founder.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit GTRaptor's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 8/27/2003 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $49.95 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: "Lifetime" durability
Cons: Can get comparable performance from Purolator for much less.

An excellent filter overall, never has to be replaced, and the cleaning kits last through several cleanings.

My only gripe is that I've tested paper Purolator filters against the MUCH more expensive K&N and the Purolator filter offers better flow.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
x7sage7x

PONY Member

Registered: September 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 667
Review Date: 9/27/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Really does do your engine better than disposables.
Cons: Get dirty fast and it does not include a $15.00 cleaning kit.

Better than any other filters on any other cars. It gets dirty quick only because it does such a good job of really filtering anything that comes its way.

------------------------------
2001 GT Mustang

Cheers!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  





Mustang Photos
Mustang Links    Top Sites    RSS    Link To Us    Add to Favorites    Archive    Terms of Use    Site Rules    Privacy    Contact    Sponsors    Advertise   
AllFordMustangs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company. ©Copyright 2002-2011 All Auto Enthusiasts Network