Home » Mustang Parts » Fuel and Induction
93bbkSSImanifold.jpg
93trickflowintake.jpg

    Next Product
1986-1993 5.0L Mustang SSI-Series Intake Manifold by BBK
Reviews Views
7 28066
spacer
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
57% of reviewers $669.50 3.8
93bbkSSImanifold.jpg


93bbkSSImanifold.jpg









Description: BBK's engineering team has done it again with an all-new line of SSI-Series performance intake manifolds. These manifolds are currently offered for the popular 1986-93 5.0L 5.0L Ford Mustang.

Starting with a clean sheet design - BBK's in-house pattern facility was able to deliver a finished product that beats the competition in both performance and value.

• Adds 18-35 horsepower over the factory manifold
• Features unique open runner high-flow lower manifold
• High torque twin plenum upper intake
• Standard high-flow aluminum fuel rails included
• Standard 75mm throttle body opening
• Built-in EGR spacer

To Purchase Call 1.800.486.2681 or Visit: www.brothersperformance.com

Manufacturer Website: www.bbkperformance.com
registered
 
Posts: 178
Registered: June 2004
Location: Deland, Florida



Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $569.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Jost received the intake and haven\'t installed yet. But it is a beautifully designed high quality piece. Install looks easy and fuel rails are a nice touch.
Cons: One review I read from 5.0 magazine stated the fuel pressure regulator was included- but it was not, so that is one more piece to buy.

Very happy with the design. BBK has done a great job with this one. Waiting to see how it reacts on the dyno. I am running a stock 5.0 block in my 92 Coupe, with edlebrock heads, c&l mass air, stock cam, stock throttle body, and 160hp nitrous. I am excited to see what kind of power I get out this new intake.
This user is offline
 
Humpty_Dumpty
Rookie

Registered: November 2005
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 6
Review Date: 11/19/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $589.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Looks good.
Cons: Everything leaks.

Hi. I have an SSI manifold on a Ford crate engine in a kit cobra. I figured at 350 horse and 2200 lbs. it should move, and I wanted the latest greatest manifold. Unfortunately, what moved was coolant through the manifold in a fissure and leaked out by the #4 cylinder manifold bolt. Also I have to mention the spacing on the fuel rails does not match the spacing on the intake ports so the injectors are not parallel, and they leaked gasoline on the intake manifold. This was after I spent 2 hours grinding casting flash out of intake runners to improve flow.

I contacted John Brockman at BBK who has been very gracious and helpful. I boxed up the manifold and fuel rails to return to BBK, but FedEx has no record of a request to pick it up for a return to BBK.

I have been trying so hard to get this car together and now I am stuck with a manifold that leaks. I have no other recourse than to sue BBK in small claims court.

Cut and paste these links into your browser for some picutres:

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=12355

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=12356

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=12357

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=12358

http://forums.stangnet.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=40366&d=1132503834

It looks good so it got a 1... just don't add coolant or fuel.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 9/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $520.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: the new bbk ssi is a pile of dodo i lost rwhp with add on 60 hp gone!! go trick flow

i had too grind the idle control mount.did not have enough cleance with out thottle body spacer. i also had a fuel leak and oil !! and im am not a rookie working on these 302 blocks.i have chunk this intake.and now i have trick flow intake thats the way too go.always buy a product thats has been on the market for sometime.no more BBK for me.
trickflow all the way !!!!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
2tone_93gt

Rookie

Registered: November 2004
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 24
Review Date: 4/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Fuel Rail Cross Over leaks - Customer Service Horrible

I had purchased this product from Summit racing. I have had 2 shops work on the car, and finally after working with Bryan Rogers from BBK (who suggested) a cross over braided line setup, which i did and paid an additional $300 for.
The intake leaks and is a complete fire hazard, be warned! I made posts both on stangnet and stangfan regarding this intake and their own staff called me a liar!

http://www.stangfan.com/online/tech-...lems-1069.html

This is where i started my story on the issue. Stay away from this product, it is dangerous and could cause a car fire!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit 2tone_93gt's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
AndrewRambo
Rookie

Registered: July 2008
Location: Bordentown
Posts: 9
Review Date: 7/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Looks, and potential to be great
Cons: Fuel and vac leaks - need redesign

I have experienced similiar issues with the new BBK SSI intake as others posted. First the fuel rail cross over is a very poor design and it must be removed, tapped and plugged. Then add a flex line across the rails at the rear. Second the spacer between the upper and lower plenum has an alignment problem leading to sealing problems. This can be fixed by filing to properly aligne. Third and most important is the sealing problem at the heads. Due to the minimal amount of metal at the top of the ports there will be sealing problems if you try to mount to anything other than stock cylinder heads. I am using GT40X heads with taller ports and there is not enough metal contact at the top to properly seal the gasket. This new intake from BBK looks fantastic and was tested to outperform many others currently on the market - BUT BBK introduced this product before it was properly tested in real world applications. Their corrective action should certainly be a redesign and better quality control. This intake has the potential to be in front of the pack if improved. If considering purchasing this product be informed!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
mustangplace

Apprentice

Registered: May 2009
Location: Sandown
Posts: 148
Review Date: 5/14/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

this intake is awful. I was going to run the bbk fuel lines that com with the intake, but after stressful leaks i ended up running stock fuel lines. The intake sits back far and takes much uneeded room from the engine compartment.

After driving with it for a couple days my low end power was noticably gone. After taking off the TB i noticed the intake was floodd with oil. Taking this intake off and going with a Ford racing cobra.,
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
martymar1082

Apprentice

Registered: May 2011
Location: polk city
Posts: 161
Review Date: 1/15/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wicked looks
Cons: cost

i had this intake on a modded 89 302 with pro-comp heads and an "f" cam. worked great looked great but could have made more power for the money as far as leaks go theres no problem with anything anywhere, teflon and silicon are an engine builders best friend. ive got a new set-up with 255lph pump and bbk regulator on a tfs track heat lower using the bbk rails i took the rails apart reassembled them retaping the threads "duh" and everything sealed up great there holding 50psi no problem!

------------------------------
93 foxy gt, forged bottomend. Tfs h/c/rr. longtubes. vic jr airgap holley dp 750. Udp's and more...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  





Mustang Photos
Mustang Links    Top Sites    RSS    Link To Us    Add to Favorites    Archive    Terms of Use    Site Rules    Privacy    Contact    Sponsors    Advertise   
AllFordMustangs is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company. ©Copyright 2002-2011 All Auto Enthusiasts Network