06 GT Mod Suggestions - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017 Thread Starter
Apprentice

06 GT Mod Suggestions

Novice here looking for some guidance from those of you who have done it all and are willing to share their suggestions on mods that I should prioritize. I bought my first Mustang a little over one year ago and it has 35K miles on it today. My new 20 in Motegi Racing wheels go on tomorrow with a staggered setup. Everything else on the car is stock. I have spent quite a bit of time reading through threads on here before joining and it seems that suggestions for best bang for you buck mods are kind of all over the place. Whatever I do first will be accompanied with a tune so anyone nice enough to provide me with suggestions should assume I will do that. Looking forward to your feedback!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 06-11-2017
PONY Member

Garage
Cold air intake with a tune is very popular. So are axle-back exhausts, if you aren't satisfied with your current exhaust sound. If you are, leave it alone.
I went with the cat-back ford racing exhaust with a tune, on my previous Mustang. I was very pleased with that set up. I also added a strut tower brace, push button trunk release, push button start and hood struts.

On my current GT, I removed the cold air intake, and aftermarket axle-back exhaust and returned them to OEM. The exhaust were to loud, and I didn't need the extra horses from the CAI and tune. The 2006 GT is powerful enough for a daily driver.