S197 Idle Surge. Need help! - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree5Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 84 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019 Thread Starter
Rookie

S197 Idle Surge. Need help!

So i made an account just to ask you guys whats going on here. I have an 06 mustang gt, I installed used hot rod cams in January and got a new tune from bama. The install went fine and didnt seem to have any problems so i started the car and it ran fine for about 8 minutes until it hit operating temp then the car started surging from 500-1300rpm consistently. Everytime i start it its the same thing, runs fine until warmed up then the surge comes back and throughs the code p0022. So far ive sent a datalog to bama and got a new tune, and replaced the bank 2 vct solenoid. I honestly dont think i jumped a tooth as the car runs perfectly when cold. Id greatly appreciate any help as ive been calling around and messing with the car for almost 3 months now.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 84 (permalink) Old 04-07-2019
PONY Member
V6 Member
4.6L Member
S197 Member

Garage
Number of possible causes here, Ill list a few i can think of.

1. Cams are different then what the Tune is calling for.
2. When installing the Cams did you make sure the bolt for the cam is in the right orientation so that oil flow for the cam phaser is working properly, as this is used to adjust the timing dynamically.
3. One cam or the other is a little off, just because it sounds like its running properly does not mean it is.
4. There are other mods on the car which are not tuned for, which in conjunction with the changes for the Cams, are throwing something out of whack.

2007 Mustang GT Deluxe Edition 5 Speed - White, Red Shelby Stripes
Roush Intake, 322 LPH Fuel Pump, 3.55 Gears, Dana Spicer Aluminum Driveshaft, Magnaflow Race Series Axle-Backs, 91 Oct. Dyno Tuning
255/50/R17 NITTO 555s, Slotted Rotors
324 RWHP, 328 RWTQ - 9-1-2018

1996 Mustang GT Coupe Auto White
2004 Shadow Gray Convertible 4.2L V6