Ford Mustang Forum banner

S197 Clunking/rattling sound when accelerating and turning right?

6K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Dingo7222 
#1 ·
Alright I have been chasing the cause of this noise since I got the car 5 years ago. The noise started showing up when I would be turning right with the car in 3rd gear at about 1800rpm. If I were to push the clutch in, the noise would go away. If I revved the engine to ~1800 rpm in neutral while turning right the rattle/clunk would come back. I can feel the clunk in the pedals as a slight tapping underneath the gas pedal, I don't feel anything in the steering wheel. 5 years later I have replaced lower control arms, wheel bearings, inner tie rods, tie rod ends, and the upper strut mounts, all of this was slightly worn so I figured I would replace it and if the noise went away, great! It hasn't. The noise is happening more often, normally under the conditions above as well as any sort of acceleration while turning right or going straight. No noise when turning left. Heck, now I will feel/hear the clunking sometimes when I start the car in a parking lot if I am facing upwards on a hill, when that happens if I don't move the car yet and rev the engine to ~1000-1200rpm I will hear/feel the clunking sound.

So here are some videos of the noise and play I found in the steering rack, you guys think that play in the steering rack could be the cause or is that normal and I am barking up the wrong tree?

Noise-

Rack and pinion play-

Current mods-
Ford Lowering K springs
Maximum Motorsports camber/caster plates
JLT 110mm intake and Bama tune
Ford Racing Shorty Headers

Car was rear ended and then rear ended the car in front of it back before I got it and the shop that fixed it and got it reinspected cut quite a few corners as I am finding strange stuff all the time.

Thanks for reading and let me know what you think!

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
What year is your GT and how many miles?