Shifter play while in gear, is this normal? - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020 Thread Starter
Apprentice

Shifter play while in gear, is this normal?

I have quite a bit of shifter side to side play while in any gear (I'll grab a video of it shortly). It doesn't feel normal, but I'm new to the S197 platform.

2010 GT, all original. TR-3650.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020
MACH I Member
5.0L Member

Sounds like the bushings in the shifter linkage are worn out. Good excuse to upgrade to a short throw shifter such as MGW or Barton.

2006 GT Deluxe - 5MT - 12.50 @ 109.61
314rwhp 330rwtq with bolt-ons
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020 Thread Starter
Apprentice

post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020 Thread Starter
Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullitt95 View Post
Sounds like the bushings in the shifter linkage are worn out. Good excuse to upgrade to a short throw shifter such as MGW or Barton.

I think you are right. I updated with a video.

Does anyone have an MGW or Barton they could do a similar video with? I was thinking MGW flatshifter with the blowfish v2 bracket.
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-05-2020
MACH I Member
5.0L Member

I have the Barton and it's fantastic. Highly recommend it.

post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 04-06-2020
V6 Member
4.6L Member
5.0L Member
S197 Member

Garage
Does the car drive and shift fine? If so easy fix and good time to upgrade to that short throw I am sure you have been curious about getting. Been there done that on a S197, but it happened to me with a hurst short throw I had at the time.

Current Garage
(11.)2012 GT500 silver with red stripe, SVT performance package, and Recaro seats.
2018 Honda Civic Type R
Past Mustangs in order and color of text.
(1.)2000, (2.)2004, (3.)2006GT/Auto traded for (4.)2006GT/Manual, (5.)1996, (6.)2011GT, (7.)2003GT, (8.)2006GT, (9)2013 Boss 302, and (10.) 2002GT