S197 Mustang-2nd gear 'resistance'? - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-23-2010 Thread Starter
Rookie

S197 Mustang-2nd gear 'resistance'?

Hey guys. My first V8 and I'm loving it, 36k miles now, just got a new paint job to clean up the previous owner's scratches so now shes emaculate on the outside. But. I'm new to driving stick. I've got everything down real smooth except for 1 thing, followed by another question. And for the record I did search but only got complaints about gear whine/grinding noise which I'm not having at all.

#1. There is some 'resistance' when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear. 3rd and beyond no problem. Low speeds or high speeds is irrelevant (at least, I think.. I'll test tomorrow morning). It isn't really hard but it does require a little push. The rest are completely smooth. I don't want to grind any gears. Is this natural or driving error?

#2. I used to have real bad hop when I first started learning to take off. It's just me by myself so I've got no one to teach me. Yet, honestly, now my take off is wonderfully smooth. ..Possibly too smooth...

I hold the clutch just before the bite point if I know the light is about to turn green. Moments later it switches green and I touch the gas very lightly 1st, release the clutch to bite 2nd, hold maybe a second, then slowly push gas/release clutch simultaneously 3rd. Completely smooth.

Whole process takes maybe a maximum of 3 seconds. Am I slipping/damaging the clutch?

I don't have any issues downshifting or on hills so hopefully I've got this about mastered unless you guys tell me otherwise.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-23-2010
Rookie
S197 Member