Ford Mustang Forum banner

Engine not running well, need help

1K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Tjcob 
#1 ·
Hello all, I have a 2005 GT and I’ve been having a problem with it running badly occasionally as of late. I’m a delivery driver so my car is constantly being started and turned off, and whenever it has been warmed up and then sits for 10-15 minutes and I start it back up, the engine runs rough and I’m not sure what would cause that. I’ve cleaned out the throttle body which seemed to help for a few days but then the issue came back, I cleaned the MAF at the same time as the throttle body, and I also changed the fuel filter which helped for a few days before it returned to its shuddering. It never happens on a cold start and the misfire or rough run stops once I give it some gas, even if I just rev to 2.5k or so in neutral and doesn’t start again until it sits for a few minutes and the I start it back up. I’ve heard it may be a vacuum leak but have no idea how to check for that or where all the vacuum lines are to check them all. It could be the electronic IAC but I would think that would also affect it when idling at stoplights and stuff but it never runs bad except for on the start up. It also hasn’t thrown any codes. Spark plugs are only about 8 months old and I haven’t checked them to see if they’re blackened or anything yet but I would imagine it wouldn’t be them and my coils seem to be in good shape though they’re old. Does anyone have any ideas on what I can look for/fix and also how to look for it if it’s a more complicated process? Thanks in advance for any help and sorry for the novel lol

See less See more
#2 ·
The 05-09 wasn't designed to be a delivery car. Get a Toyota for that!!
I can't even begin to tell you how much my stomach churns to read crap like this.
It's equivalent to animal abuse!!!

Reactions: my89foxbody
#3 ·