Ford Mustang Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

To drop cats or not to drop cats

3K views 32 replies 14 participants last post by  stlwagon 
#1 ·
Hi everyone... I'm new to the Mustang forums. I have a 2005 Mustang GT Redfire 5 speed. I have just installed a K&N FIPK 57-2565 Cold Air kit and Flowmaster American Thunder axelbacks. I'm contemplating dropping the cats in favor of an off road H pipe. What issues should I be aware of with regard to the MIL sensors for the O2 CAT sensors? I would like to do a bolt on/off pipe, as I live in an emissions testing state, and will need to swap them out for testing. Look forward to recommendations

#2 ·
Do you have your stock heades on? If so just switch it back when the time comes for testing.
If you drop your cats you'll get a "code" because of it. That can be stopped by getting tune.

#4 ·
I would get a SCT tuner from Doug at Bamachips.com and that way you will get a lot more power. You will also get free tunes for your new bolt ons.

#6 ·
I don't think it's worth it to remove your cats. You will make better power on other mods. Not only that all you will be doing is making our air dirty. Our cars have pretty good exhaust for a factory vehicle. The only real gain in exhaust would be to install long tubes with cats. There you will notice a nice increase.

I'm "green" and I'm making more power than guys here with off road exhaust. Proof positive you can make clean power.

My .$02

#7 ·
I took the cat's off ( alittle gain can't tell but I like the sound better). It kinda dirty's the air but it's no worse then seeing a 18 wheeler blowing black smoke everywhere!

#9 ·
I've also considered hi-flow cats, as I'm not against preserving the environment. I'm looking for a bit more sound out of my Flowmasters, which an O/R H or X will give me. You folks who have programmers/tuners, any recommendations such as from BKid there are more than welcome. And thanks for the AFM welcome!

#17 ·