To drop cats or not to drop cats - Ford Mustang Forum
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008 Thread Starter
Rookie

To drop cats or not to drop cats

Hi everyone... I'm new to the Mustang forums. I have a 2005 Mustang GT Redfire 5 speed. I have just installed a K&N FIPK 57-2565 Cold Air kit and Flowmaster American Thunder axelbacks. I'm contemplating dropping the cats in favor of an off road H pipe. What issues should I be aware of with regard to the MIL sensors for the O2 CAT sensors? I would like to do a bolt on/off pipe, as I live in an emissions testing state, and will need to swap them out for testing. Look forward to recommendations

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-14-2008
GT Member
5.0L Member

Do you have your stock heades on? If so just switch it back when the time comes for testing.
If you drop your cats you'll get a "code" because of it. That can be stopped by getting tune.

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
--Thomas Jefferson
post #3 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008 Thread Starter
Rookie

Yes, I do have the stock headers. That was my thought, getting a programmer and swapping the cats in and out when emissions testing comes every couple of years.

post #4 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008
SHELBY GT 350 Member
S197 Member

I would get a SCT tuner from Doug at Bamachips.com and that way you will get a lot more power. You will also get free tunes for your new bolt ons.

JLT CAI/BAMA tune,moto blue pullies,3:73`s,LPW girdle;Powerhouse DS,CHE safety loop,CHE LCA`S & Adjustable UCA,Kooks LT`S & O/R X Pipe,prothane MM`s,Steeda CMDP`S,Eibach springs,Tokico D specs,Polished TB(by Me),Steeda radiator support,Zex kit 100 shot. Taylor Relocation battery kit and cut off switch,PTC converter,Bogarts and Hosier QTP`S.
11:903 ET, 1.67 60`,111.897 MPH
post #5 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008
SHELBY GT 500 Member
S197 Member