Shelby GT500 after-thoughts - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-01-2006 Thread Starter
BOSS Member
S197 Member

Shelby GT500 after-thoughts

This is by no means hating on the GT500, just some thoughts, because 2 years ago I graduated college and finally started making some coin. I always wanted an SVT, but could never afford it. The '05 came out and it was to sweet to pass up(not even a whisper from SVT at that moment of what they might do...I'm not into buying used cars so thats why I passed up a used '04 Cobra). I'm just a little sore that it wasn't more affordable, cuz I'd really love one.

I was just thinking. Following suit after the hotness that were "The Terminator mustangs", does anyone think Ford should have used the 4.6L motor with forged internals?

I mean granted we wouldnt have 500 hp, but I bet the car would have cost no more than 35k/36k.

..just wondering if any1 else wishes they woulda gone down a different road with the Shelby?

SOLD -2005 Black GT Whipple HO| Oil Seperator | Steeda Tensioner | 93 dyno tune | Autometer Cobalt | GTAs | Eibach Pro-kit | Tokico D-Specs | CHE UCA | BMR PH | BMR LCA | BMR LCA Bracket | 18x9/10 Deep Dish Bullits

2013 Shelby GT500
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-01-2006

Yeah, I wish we had a forged internal motor. I guess the thing to consider is that maybe 95% (or more) mustang GT owners have no idea what forged even means. I think most people wouldn't notice or care. Ford knows this and has to play to the masses. They went with cheaper parts to keep the sticker price on the GT low. They certainly have the ability to make a 'bullet proof' race type motor, but the cost would add to the sticker...and the non-performance oriented masses would buy something cheaper. I guess we can always hope.

T

post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-01-2006 Thread Starter
BOSS Member
S197 Member

Hmm, should this have gone in 2005+ Talk? Oh well. Anyways...