Ford Mustang Forum banner

Shifting advice for new GT owner

8K views 21 replies 12 participants last post by  gwhitson 
#1 ·
Hi All,

I just purchased a '06 Mustang GT. It is a 5spd and is completely stock far as I know. I had two general questions for you shifting experts out there for general non racing driving.

First, I am finding much easier to accelerate from a complete stop in second gear. Is this acceptable? Is it hard/bad on the car in any way? I find if I shift right into first gear I get to much power. I feel it is a bit of a mix that I am a rookie stick driver and that there is a lot of power under the hood.

Second, what is a good fuel efficient RPM range to stay in? When should someone shift up? (I feel it's around 3500rpms) When should I shift down? (I feel it's at 2000)

Sorry if this is a super beginner question, but I am really trying to improve my shifting!

Thanks!

#2 ·
Your style of driving with a manual transmission is something that will develop over time, and it may be a little different based on the power of the car (e.g., a Mustang GT vs. a Honda Civic).

I start off in 1st most of the time, but if there is any downhill slope or roll, or I'm in slow traffic it may be smoother to start off in 2nd. To get a smooth 1-2 upshift it also seems easier if you can let it wind up a little in 1st before you shift to 2nd.

Upshifts at about 3000-3500 RPM seem to be a sweet spot for a smooth gear transition since you are in a good solid part of the torque curve. However, sometimes its fun to go a little higher, since the car really pulls well from about 3000-6000 RPM. I usually merge onto freeways in 3rd gear because I can go from about 45 mph on up to 70-75 mph very smoothly, and then drop it into 5th for the cruise.