Not enough clear coat! - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-30-2006 Thread Starter
S197 Member

Angry Not enough clear coat!

My 05 GT Mustang is developing nasty acid rain spots. I dont drive it much as I fly for a living and have to leave it sitting in a hotel parking lot usually 4 days at a time while I work. I am noticing that the acid rain spots are getting harder and harder to remove. I use an orbital buffer machine to buff out the spots as much as I can but this type of buffer wont remove the spots it seems lately. Is anybody else seeing this problem? I suspect that the clear coat from the factory is not thick enough to prevent the acid spots..........

Can I get the warranty to cover another coat of clear if I show the dealer how bad its getting??? Not very happy about this development.

Jeff

Last edited by citruspilot; 06-30-2006 at 11:03 PM. Reason: added words
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006
PONY Member
S197 Member

as far as I know the paint has a 3 year warranty. I had a Ranger a few years that they gave new paint because of acid rain.

2007 Mustang GT
Windveil Blue
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-01-2006
S197 Member

It is possible that you have defective clearcoat, and an independent body shop as well as your dealer are probably the best places to get an opinon about that.

However, there are a few very simple steps that will go a long way toward minimizing the wear on the paint and maximizing its stock appearance.

1. Purchas a clay bar and completely rub your car down to remove all of the existing pollution and fallout on the surface of your car's paint (after washing the car). Trust me, it works. I did it to my car the day I got it home from the dealership, and the clay bar removed a visible amount of junk that had become trapped on the surface of the paint, despite it being washed upon delivery.