2010 Mustang - Gear noise?? - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010 Thread Starter
Rookie

Question 2010 Mustang - Gear noise??

Ok, first of all...call me crazy! But I am new to Mustangs. I just bought my first 2010 v6 manual. Last night though, I noticed some noise coming from the front center console, almost like from behind the radio. (Engine, I guess) Anyway, it sounds more like exhaust noise, like what I expect to hear coming from the rear of my car...not in my cab. Acceleration, clutching, shifting, etc. I don't notice whining, grinding or anything else.

I'm an experienced manual driver, but have never noticed this in my other cars. (VW Jetta, Honda Civic)

Is this something specific to Mustangs? I just want to be sure I shouldn't take it to the dealer to be checked out. Plus, I'd rather look a fool on here than there.

Also, does anyone else have a hard time shifting into first and reverse? New car = tight gears?

Thanks!!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010
PONY Member

Hey i also have a 2010 v6 and yes the gears will be a bit sticky in the begining, that is how my mine were about a year ago when i got my car, espescialy in first and reverse, but they have smoothed out quite a bit since then.

And also i have also have a noise that i hear that comes from the center console behind the radio, it is a ticking noise when i lett off the clucth in first gear and some times in reverse, but this noise dosent happen all of the time, it is just random, but it dosent bother me that much becasue i figured if it was serious it would happen every time and interfer with my driving which it dosent.

What sort of noise dose yours make?

2010 Kona Blue Mustang V6 (Traded in For a 2011 Chevy Cruze... Money is just too tight!)