Shaft masters Drive shaft Install Help! - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-03-2011 Thread Starter
Apprentice

Shaft masters Drive shaft Install Help!

so i got my shaft masters alumnuin drive shaft today. I have pulled everything out and am ready to install. I have the 8.8 inch rear end, and i ordered the shaft masters 4" drive shaft w/ the cobra pinion flange so it will be a direct bolt on to the 8.8.

But i got the part and im confused because im not sure if i am suppose to get a adapter plate. I have read a few install threads on the 3.5 " shaft and thought it would be almost the same.. But i was not given the adapter plate (see pictures) so im confused if the 4" does not need the plate or if they forgot to send it or what :?: When i try sliding the shaft into the rear end it does not slide in nicely, not too sure if i am suppose to force it into the rear end or if if should go in nicely? Dont want to force it if something is wrong or i need the adapter plate?

Please help!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	057.jpg
Views:	838
Size:	657.5 KB
ID:	129376   Click image for larger version

Name:	055.jpg
Views:	1145
Size:	674.7 KB
ID:	129377   Click image for larger version

Name:	056.jpg
Views:	442
Size:	722.1 KB
ID:	129378   Click image for larger version

Name:	053.jpg
Views:	2032
Size:	601.2 KB
ID:	129379  

2006 mustang V6 pony package : Diablo tuner, BBk TB, AEM CAI, shaft masters 4'' Driveshaft, 8.8'' trac lok rearend, 3.55 gears, Screaming demon w/ livewires, MAC ceramic coated shorties, pypes x pipe, magnaflow dual catback exhaust
+many appereance mods
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-04-2011
Rake

Does the 8.8's flange have a lip around the edge? My 7.5's flange was flat, so I didn't have to deal with that.