2005 Mustang V6 coolant - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011 Thread Starter
Rookie

2005 Mustang V6 coolant

Wife called with the car overheating... Checked level ... It was low by 2.5 gallons...
Found a leak right side of engine at the front... Looks like a gasket leak...

I'm a carpenter... If it ain't sawdust, I don't want to touch it...Help

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011
SHELBY GT 500 Member

welcome to the forums, thats a bummer, that thing was empty. thats when head problems happen from heat. check real good just below the throttle body. most likely the plastic thermostat housing. its a pretty easy fix if thats it. hope nothing else happened. you can check it out in a manual, or heres a little write up i did

https://www.allfordmustangs.com/forum...-how-pics.html

05 V6 auto,
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011
GT Member

If it is the thermostat and you decide to take on the job yourself be careful not to mix antifreeze types, as that can cause jelling of the coolant. Original Ford spec was Motorcraft Gold type.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-08-2011
PONY Member
S197 Member

a couple years ago my t stat housing cracked. once i got home and parked my car white smoke started flowing from my car. i had a warranty so it on cost me $100.

i think this might be common with our cars

2005 4.0 R.I.P 12/22/08-4/13/12

2013 5.0 Premium GT Borla S-Type,BBK Shorty Headers, BBK X Pipe

more mods arriving shortly...
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-09-2011
Rookie

take it to a ford dealership and sacrifice the 92.00$ diagnostic fee...I had a similar problem and it ended up being a damaged radiator and had to be replaced for more money then i expected...I had two puddles of coolant everytime the car was off. I had no idea where to start. Hope this helps!

2008 Black V6 4.0
JLT CAI, Bama Race 93 Octane Tune (SCT SF3)
Pypes dual exhaust, demon coils, NGK plugs
[/I]