Are the 2005-2009 V6s that bad and underpowered?? - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-11-2015 Thread Starter
Rookie

Question Are the 2005-2009 V6s that bad and underpowered??

hey guys I'm new to this world of mustangs but have done a lot of searching around (prices, performance upgrades, etc.) so I'm not completely clueless. Im 17 years old and i love the way the 2005-2009 mustangs look inside and out (inside especially). I work and am saving up to buy my own (at about 3.5k right now). I can afford a 2005 v6 in my area by the time of july, I can find one for about 6-7k with about 100,000-120,000 miles. My question is, after looking around and stuff, everyone says the 2005-2009 v6s are horrible, weak, waste of money, underpowered, slow, etc. Are they really that bad? It will be my first car and don't really want to wait longer to save up for a gt, and of course a gt will be more expensive insurance wise and just the price of the car.
Bottom line, Will I be disappointed in buying a v6? I'm just looking for a reasonably fast/nice car i can have fun with for a couple years.
I will be going to a dealer soon to test drive one, but just looking for advice. Because at this point its either a 2001-2004 GT or 2005-2009 v6 for me, I'm just in love with the 2005-09s.
thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 04-11-2015
PONY Member

They are "under powered" if you compare them to the newer models and they are "under powered" compared to g35 models or cars similar of the same era that have 70 more horsepower and 30 more torque. However, if you can afford a few simple bolt one and different gears the car becomes a whole new animal. The car will never have high amounts of horsepower unless you go forced induction, however what you can get is torque with some simple bolt ons and torque will give you that throw back in your seat feel.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App