• 2 Post By crjackson2134
  • 1 Post By 2014blackgt
  • 2 Post By JBert
  • 1 Post By kenv
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Unread 2 Weeks Ago Thread Starter
Rookie

Garage
Is a CAI worth it if I already have a tune?

Ive been running a Lund tune on my mustang for the last 2 years with the stock air intake. Everything has been good but ive been wanting to add some more power and wondering if a cold air intake with a new tune would add some extra HP. Ive been look at the PMAS or C&L cold air intakes, what are your opinions on this?

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

GT Member
4.6L Member
5.0L Member
S197 Member

Garage
Not really. The subject has been beat like a dead horse already. Long story short... The factory CAI provides more than sufficient air flow for a normally aspirated 5.0 tune or not. You power comes from the the tune, not the CAI. I wouldn’t waste the money if power is the goal. If intake sound or aesthetics are the goal, then go for it....

kenv and Beechkid like this.

2014 Black GT Premium w/Track Pack - 401A - (Apocalypse)
2018 Black Nissan 370Z Nismo - (Lucille-2)
Rookie

Quote:
Originally Posted by crjackson2134 View Post
Not really. The subject has been beat like a dead horse already. Long story short... The factory CAI provides more than sufficient air flow for a normally aspirated 5.0 tune or not. You power comes from the the tune, not the CAI. I wouldn’t waste the money if power is the goal. If intake sound or aesthetics are the goal, then go for it....
I agree 100 percent. [email protected] drop-in and done

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
crjackson2134 likes this.

SHELBY GT 350 Member
4.6L Member
S197 Member

I guess it depends on what is "worth it" to you. I think there are some small gains to be had with an aftermarket intake (on top of the tune); maybe something like 5-10 HP or so. Also they look cool under the hood. And might make the intake sound more audible, depends on whether you like that or not.