2012 Mustang 5.0 - Questions - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-02-2011 Thread Starter
Rookie
5.0L Member
S197 Member

2012 Mustang 5.0 - Questions

Hey guys,

I'm new to the forum. I just picked up my brand new 2012 Mustang GT about a week ago. I'm also new to driving stick. I've managed to get a pretty good handle on it over the past week.

I still have a few questions that I'm not sure of...

1. Are hard starts bad for your clutch?? Obviously if you're reving up to 5k+ rpm and dropping the clutch - you're putting some wear on your clutch. But, what about at 3k??? still bad?

2. In traffic, I find it useful to slowly release the clutch - allowing the clutch to pull the car (not giving any gas). It moves the car at a slow speed which is perfect for stop and go traffic. Is this bad for the clutch? someone told me that its not good to let the clutch pull the car. Is that right?

3. When downshifting (which I'm still trying to get used to). I find that the car shoots forward quickly as I release the clutch before it begins to slow down in the lower gear. What am I doing wrong? Am I reving too high?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-02-2011
PONY Member
5.0L Member

1. if its considered a "hard start" then yes it only lowers the life of your clutch. Its hard on everything though not just your clutch.

2. yes slowly releasing the clutch is considered more wear and tear because it creates much more friction and heat. When theres more heat on the flywheel the more likely you are to have it warp.

3. Use your brakes. Its much easier to replace your brakes to than it is to replace your clutch. Your not driving an 18 wheeler.

Im only going to say this once, keep your arms and legs in the vehicle at all times
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-02-2011
BOSS Member
4.6L Member
S197 Member

Send a message via Yahoo to Rockin' Blue's