Ford Mustang Forum banner

seeking an answer to a knocking sound for 2012 5.0

16K views 27 replies 11 participants last post by  jamcruise 
#1 ·
Hello all!

I am new to this site and I am looking for some online suggestions to a knocking sound I have with my 2012 5.0. This video, from youtube, is not my car but has the same problem as mine. It is a better recording of the sound. I have contacted FORD on this issue and my spring break, I am a teacher and the only time I have to do this til the summer, take it in to the shop.

The mustang is stock (10,200 ish miles) and now, since I took is out from its winter slumber, is runing great! No loss of power/no smoke. My ex. tips have a very little black to them, but I guess thats normal?? The oil is very clean since I took her out for spring, 3 weeks now (before winter I had the oil changed) and the oil level is at normal.

Here is the video...

2011 Mustang 5.0 "Normal" Operation - YouTube

People have commented on the yotube page that it is an A/C belt pully?? I have noticed this sound after my first oil change. What do you guys and gals think? Thanx for your input in advance. :winks

SilverChief12
Chicago, IL.

See less See more
#3 ·
Ford has 2 tsb's out for noise concerns.

Printable View (2473 KB) TSB
12-3-1
  • 5.0L - INTERMITTENT METALLIC RATTLE OR SCRATCHING TYPE NOISE - WARM ENGINE AT IDLE
Publication Date: March 2, 2012
FORD:
2011-2012 Mustang, F-150

This article supersedes TSB 11-12-12 to update the Service Procedure and warranty causal part number. ISSUE:

Some 2011-2012 F-150 and Mustang vehicles (excluding Boss) equipped with a 5.0L engine may exhibit an intermittent metallic rattle or scratching type noise in the area at the front of the left hand or driver side cylinder head at idle with the engine at operating temperature.
ACTION:

Follow the Service Procedure steps to correct the condition.
SERVICE PROCEDURE

1. Determine engine build date. Refer to Workshop Manual (WSM), Section 303-01.