Ford Mustang Forum banner

Power mods

3K views 26 replies 11 participants last post by  PMDmustang13 
#1 ·
Hello,

I bit of a newbie here so please bare with me. I have a 2012 GT premium, bone stock. I just bought the car earlier in the week. Only has 13k miles on it.

I'm reading up on power mods, intake/exhaust and a tune. It seems like for the exhaust, all the power is in the headers, which I'm not planning on replacing, so even a catback isn't a good bang for the buck. I think I've decided on the flowmaster outlaws axleback. I'm not sure how much an x-pipe or h-pipe will help with power or is it more for just sound?

On the intake, I've been reading reviews saying a CAI isn't really worth the cost as the stock intake is really well designed. What about a CAI with a Bama 91 race tune? Is it worth the money over just the Bama 91 race tune by itself?

What I'm considering at this point is:
Bama 91 race tune (it's hard to find 93 octane around here)
Flowmaster outlaw axleback (just for sound)

Possibly:
CAI
Boss 302 intake

See less See more
#2 ·
Exhaust is largely just going to be louder. Most CAIs are really hot air intakes and don't help, although I think there is one AM CAI that actually helps a bit. The OEM intake is a CAI, and works very well.

I would suggest that you think about what sort of vehicle you want, what want it to do well, before doing anything. For instance; I want my car to be both to drive, but to retain it's Grand Touring capabilities. I want it to drive like what I imagine an Aston Martin drives like. So I'm focused on NVH, suspension and brakes, it's got enough straight-line performance with nothing but a tune.

So take some time to figure out what you want your car to be, what you want to do with it, and then go from there.

#3 ·
This will be a daily driver for me. I'd like to add usable low to midrange power of possible. That's why I'm considering the Bama 91 race tune. The flowmaster outlaws will just be for sound.