Power mods - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-20-2016 Thread Starter
Apprentice

Power mods

Hello,

I bit of a newbie here so please bare with me. I have a 2012 GT premium, bone stock. I just bought the car earlier in the week. Only has 13k miles on it.

I'm reading up on power mods, intake/exhaust and a tune. It seems like for the exhaust, all the power is in the headers, which I'm not planning on replacing, so even a catback isn't a good bang for the buck. I think I've decided on the flowmaster outlaws axleback. I'm not sure how much an x-pipe or h-pipe will help with power or is it more for just sound?

On the intake, I've been reading reviews saying a CAI isn't really worth the cost as the stock intake is really well designed. What about a CAI with a Bama 91 race tune? Is it worth the money over just the Bama 91 race tune by itself?

What I'm considering at this point is:
Bama 91 race tune (it's hard to find 93 octane around here)
Flowmaster outlaw axleback (just for sound)

Possibly:
CAI
Boss 302 intake

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 02-20-2016
PONY Member

Exhaust is largely just going to be louder. Most CAIs are really hot air intakes and don't help, although I think there is one AM CAI that actually helps a bit. The OEM intake is a CAI, and works very well.

I would suggest that you think about what sort of vehicle you want, what want it to do well, before doing anything. For instance; I want my car to be both to drive, but to retain it's Grand Touring capabilities. I want it to drive like what I imagine an Aston Martin drives like. So I'm focused on NVH, suspension and brakes, it's got enough straight-line performance with nothing but a tune.

So take some time to figure out what you want your car to be, what you want to do with it, and then go from there.