NA engine build for street/track - Ford Mustang Forum
Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 03-21-2016 Thread Starter
Rookie

NA engine build for street/track

I had started a thread looking for info on a FI track engine build and based on feed back I have changed to a NA build.

Back ground, I am new to Mustangs and just bought my 2011 GT a couple weeks ago with a few holes in the block, oil pan, etc. So the block and pan are toast. Engine was pulled last week. The 3 and 4 rods were broken and I think the 7 was bent. Heads are good, but have 8 bent valves on 3 and 4. Crank is in perfect shape.

The car will be built as an occasional track car and occasional driver. Goal is 500 rwhp.
Getting engine sorted first so that I can get it back on the road. Will be posting about suspension, brakes, etc in the furute...

So this is my plan. I have a small specialty shop that I am working with on the build. He has not done a Coyote before, but has build/rebuilt/modified a few of my race engines (351W, 2.0L Pinto, LS2) in the past as well as LS street motors for my dad's hot road and my Jeep.

This is what we have planed

Short block:
-Used F150 Coyote Block (bought for $500 as a disassembled short block with crank and pistons). Block is in great condition

-Mahle forged H beam rods and forged pistons - 11.0 to 1 CR. Should we look at 11.5 to 1 CR pistons? I would like to beable to use 91 pump gas.

-Will put in billet oil pump gears

Estimated cost $4100US

Heads:
-hand ported and enlarged valves (0.5mm and 1mm)

-comp Stage 2 or 3 cams. I have read mixed reviews on the low speed drivabiliy of the stage 3 cams. I would like to be able to cruise to the grocery store, my kids hockey/dance, etc.

-MMR head cooling mod

Estimated cost $4200US

So long block will be around $8300US.

Bolts ons:
-Mushimoto Performance Rad