Ford Mustang Forum banner

All seasons vs snow tires?

11K views 41 replies 13 participants last post by  Siber Express 
#1 ·
Hey all. Wanted to ask if anyone here is running their GT with all seasons in snowy part of the world. I'm located in Minnesota and want to know if I can make do with all seasons to save a good chunk of cash, or if it'll be too dangerous to drive. For what it's worth, I am a careful driver and I don't plan on hooning around or banging gears in the winter traffic and roads.

#4 ·
Here in PA we get a decent amount of snow, I run all seasons. But for anything more than an inch of snow you are going to want to get some snow tires, otherwise it is going to be fishtail city...

#5 ·
In my experience the best winter tire for the Mustang and other rear wheel performance cars is the Blizzak winter tire. Aftermarket rims and $300 a tire at most outlets gives you a good combo you can install during the peak snow season. I have a set of Conti DWS all seasons mounted on a spare set of rims for the Mustang and a set of Blizzak for the other car and the Blizzak is superior performing.

But to the OPs point - - can you run a GT in a snowy part of the world with all season tires and save some Benjamins. If my first sentence wasn't a hint how I would answer, my answer is yes. But if you drive a RWD car with All-Season tires in snow and ice - - just travel as fast as you fell comfortable crashing.

#7 · (Edited)
In my experience the best winter tire for the Mustang and other rear wheel performance cars is the Blizzak winter tire. Aftermarket rims and $300 a tire at most outlets gives you a good combo you can install during the peak snow season. . . . .