Ford Mustang Forum banner

'14 Mustang GT - Downgrading from 93 to 87 octane

5K views 11 replies 12 participants last post by  OX1 
#1 ·
Good evening,

I've been putting 93 octane into my Mustang since late 2013 - is it okay to make the switch to 87 octane now? I know the car can run fine on 87 octane, minus losing around 20 hp - but with me running on 93 for so long should there be issues?

The reason I would be downgrading is I just got a new job that requires me to drive around 120 miles a day, meaning I'll have to fill my tank at least twice a week. That extra .60 per gallon is going to start adding up quick.

Thanks in advance!

#2 ·
If you have the factory tune installed, you should be fine.

#3 ·
From what I've read, the fuel economy with 93 is better than 87 so you might not be saving much money. Is 91 available near you? If so, it'l be cheaper than 93 and the car will run fine. Does the job pay enough to cover the $18/week difference? If so, stick with 91+. Otherwise, do you have a more fuel efficient car to drive instead? Does any of that driving count as company expense? If so, the'll pay you a mileage stipend or you can deduct on taxes.

#4 ·
I don't have a 2013 Mustang, I have a 2016 GT. I don't drive in severe duty situations so I mostly use 87 octane.

Check your owners manual on recommended fuel. It should be listed in the Fuel and Refueling section about fuel quality.

In the 2016 owners manual the 2.3L, 3.7L and 5.0L engines the fuel recommended in the owners manual is 87 octane. The only exception listed is severe duty usage such as towing a trailer is when you use premium.

"2.3L EcoBoost and 5.0L V8 Engines
We recommend regular unleaded gasoline
with a pump (R+M)/2 octane rating of 87.
Some stations offer fuels posted as regular
with an octane rating below 87, particularly
in high altitude areas. We do not
recommend fuels with an octane rating
below 87.
To provide improved performance, we
recommend premium fuel for severe duty