Mods for 2013 Base V6 Auto - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012 Thread Starter
Apprentice

Question Mods for 2013 Base V6 Auto

Getting my car today, since I receive more then expected for my trade off I want to get some mods performance wise. Only have 700$ but will gradually add to my budget. I'm a total newbie so I would like to know what you guys would suggest. I don't have the pony package so the list might be long. (i.e. should i change the tires?)

Would starting with a tuner and 3.75 gear be a good start?

I also thought getting an Air Cold Air intake since it seems easy to install and seem to add some hp and improve gas mileage.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012
Apprentice

tuner and gears!~

Congrats on the new stang! I still tell new stang owners and modders that the best thing to start with is the tuner, I have the SCT device with BAMA tunes but there are others. It will be a base for all future mods and has free tunes for life.

Gears are a great start too but require a tune. I have 3.55s and many ppl go with 3.73s. They are great for getting into that torque curve sooner and, even though do not add actual rwhp, will increase your 0-60 times and 1/8 and 1/4 mile times.

If you want to spend all that $700 now, get a tuner and gears (just remember you will need an install and bearing kit with the gears). Install on the gears will be around $300-$400 *in most cases

2012 Mustang 3.7L, 6M- UX
93H- Dynomax cat-back- frpp 3.55- JLT cai- BBK o/r Xpipe
Stack strut bar- Eibach Pros- BMR lca- Shelby uca
J&M Panhard- Black billet grilles- Stillen lip- Lamin-X tints
Blackout decklid- Steeda shifter bushing bracket
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012
BOSS Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffire View Post