Ford Mustang Forum banner

New Member Borla Touring Axle-Back Question

Tags
borla cai
1K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  Stang2014 
#1 ·
Hi Everyone! New member here. I plan to buy a 2014 or 2013 V6 PP Mustang later this year and I was hoping you guys could help me answer some questions. I’m a college student so money is tight and I intend to keep the car as stock as possible. Having said that I’ve already done some looking around I’ve fell in love with the Borla Touring Exhaust. I’m completely new to modding so please forgive my ignorance. My question is does this exhaust need any maintenance down the road or will my Mustang need any maintenance down the road because of the exhaust. I thinking about getting an Airaid or C&L CAI, but after further research I’ve learned that it’s probably a waste of money w/o a tune so I’ll probably get a drop in K&N filter instead.

Also, what do you guys think I’ll be able to get for the exhaust maybe 2-3 years down the line? Is there any other mods you guys recommend that will benefit the performance or look of my car? Or that might help the performance/sound of the borla axle-back?

Thanks!

#2 ·
I have the Borla S Type. It's mainly for sound, you don't need a tune for that. I recommend a CAI. Just because you don't get a tune right away doesn't mean your car won't benefit. Get a tuner when you can its worth it. Small steps, youlle get there. Check out American Muscle, plenty of stuff for looks and performance. It's where I shop. And welcome noobie!!!

#3 ·
Not sure on the price in the future. With the '15 Mustangs coming out, don't expect the price to drop too much if the same part for our '14 Borla S Type will fit the '15 Mustangs. If it DOESN'T fit the '15, then you may be able to save a few bucks. Not a lot though.