2014 V6 Gear swap - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013 Thread Starter
Rookie

2014 V6 Gear swap

ok, I'm Still a rookie at this but i want to do a gear swap on my V6. i have the stock 2.73s and i want to go to the 3.73s. i feel like that would be best for having fun haha anyway what all do i need to do this? the entire install kit on american muscle and a tune or just the gears? thanks

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013
PONY Member

You'll need the tune + gears, that much I know.

post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013
Apprentice

tune, gears, install kit, and gear oil (which may come with the kit)

2011 V6 Kona Blue, MT, 3.55's, airaid cai, 93R tune, BBK shorty headers, 2.5" exhaust, GT axle-backs, BMR rear LCAs, pony package, comfort package

Last edited by konatown; 11-11-2013 at 07:53 PM. Reason: spelling

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013 Thread Starter
Rookie

Ok thanks, thats what I was thinking because why else would they have a kit. But with the tune, could I have a dealership do it, or a bama tune?
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013
Apprentice

Don't think the dealership can retune to 3.73's since the V6 didn't originally come with it from the factory. I did the 2.73 to 3.73 swap last week with a BAMA tune, well worth it.

Wife = 2012 Mustang V6 Premium Grabber Blue BBK CAI, BBK LT w/ HFC, Borla ATAK, MPT Tune, DSS Driveshaft, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BMR LCA's | Best = 13.5 @ 105
Husband = 2010 Camaro V6 Synergy Green Edition IPF Supercharger Best = 12.5 @ 111
Closest finish @ the line = Wife by 0.0028 seconds (4.79 inches)

Also own a 2014 Mustang GT Premium, Brembo Package, 401A, Comfort Package, Shaker Pro System, Pedestal Spoiler
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-11-2013
Apprentice

How much better is acceleration 0-60 with the 3.73? Do you chirp the tires on take off?

2013 3.7 mustang auto.