Ford Mustang Forum - View Single Post - AdvancTrac almost caused a major wreck
View Single Post
post #57 of (permalink) Old 07-31-2012
11Red3.7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimace427 View Post
For something that much of a safety issue, I would insist on them testing each wheelspeed sensor via oscilloscope pattern as well as swap in a new AdvanceTrac control unit for diagnostic purposes. Get Deysha to light a fire beneath their butts. I understand the difficult to duplicate and diagnose concerns being a tech myself, but for things safety related we check until we are certain it is fixed.
Well I have the car back, I'm pretty sure it didn't see any O-scope action. Just the belts under the TSB, and the steering wheel buttons. CND on the shifting and Advanctrac problem. CND is AirForce speak for could not duplicate malfunction.

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidhadriel View Post
This x1000. Something that can potentially cause a fatal crash should really be looked into beyond the general "uh, we don't hear anything strange" kind of inspection. Get a hold of Deysha if you have to.
Deysha contacted my regional customer service rep Steve who I've been in contact with twice. When I picked up the car I drove around for 10 minutes with the service manager. Nothing freaked out, and it shifted pretty well *sigh*...

Quote:
Originally Posted by GM Convert View Post
Advancetrac is an electronic control system in the ECU, and holding down the button for 5 seconds DOES turn that system off.

ABS is NOT part of Advancetrac, so no, turning off Advancetrac will not disable your ABS system and required components.