First gt. Need some pointers - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-02-2017 Thread Starter
Rookie

First gt. Need some pointers

Hello everyone. I'm not new to the forum. But I'm new to the v8 scene. I previously had a 99 v6 5speed. And I just bought my first 2002 Gt 5 speed Monday. Any pointers welcome. Thoughts on what to upgrade appreciated. I just need some general maintenance help. Recommended spark plugs and wires. What oil works best with this stang. It has 248,xxx miles (yea I know its alot but it's been taken care of and I got a Great deal it as basically given to me). It's got a cold air intake with a throttle body spacer. Pretty sure throttle body is not stock (it should have the horse on it if it were stock right?), acel coil packs (don't know much about that), BBK x pipe with 40 series flowmasters. And thats all I was told.

Here's the bad part. Had check engine code. They said it was oxygen sensors but when I got it checked it had nothing to do with oxygen sensors and turned out to be something about air too hot and the mass airflow not working (the maf wasn't plugged in for some reason though) and cylinder 4 & 7 are misfiring. It doesn't seem like it's misfiring though it idles steady and drives perfectly fine. Any thoughts appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-02-2017
PONY Member

Congrats on the new ride! My first Mustang was an 04 GT 5 speed and I miss the 2v sound from time to time.