Mattgil's Build Thread - Ford Mustang Forum
View Poll Results: What mods should I do next (see post for parts list)
Interior refresh 1 100.00%
Exhaust and performance 0 0%
Voters: 1. You may not vote on this poll

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 02-14-2018 Thread Starter
Rookie

Mattgil's Build Thread

So I am relatively new to Mustangs, just got my 01 GT in June of 2017 and spent the rest of the summer just driving it and fixing some small things that needed attention. It came with a K&N intake with about the dirtiest filter I have ever seen, Flowmaster exhaust that had a rusted out tip, and some old school plug and play superchip tune. I was running very well with only 65,000 when I got it so I went ahead and got a new K&N filter and washed the other one as a backup, got a brand new Flowmaster American Thunder stainless cat back so it won't rust out again. It also needed breaks so I got the Powerstop kit with the drilled rotors and pads and just did some other general maintenance like flushing and changing everything etc.

Now that I am stuck in the winter in CT all I have been able to do it stare at it and come up with how I want to build him up, yes him we are calling him Mr. Ed (inside joke). Yesterday I ordered the first round of parts which include wheels / tires, suspension, rear end and tuner. See below for parts list. I will be doing probably 1 or 2 track days a year so I want to to be comfortable with that, but 90% of the time I will just be going on cruises with our group.

Step 1
  • Ford Performance Lowering C-Springs (79-04 All, Excluding 99-04 Cobra)
  • SR Performance Polyurethane Spring Isolators - Rear (79-04 All, Excluding 99-04 Cobra)
  • SR Performance Polyurethane Spring Isolators - Front (79-04 All)
  • Bama X4/SF4 Power Flash Tuner w/ 2 Custom Tunes (99-04 GT, Bullitt)
  • Ford Performance Traction - LOK Rebuild Kit w/ Carbon Discs - 8.8 in.
  • Motive Rear End Installation and Bearing Kit - 8.8 in.