Need Some Advice Guys: To Sell or Keep - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-24-2011 Thread Starter
Apprentice
4.6L Member

Need Some Advice Guys: To Sell or Keep

Well I've been meaning to post this up for awhile since I found out I'll most likely be going on international exchange this coming fall a couple months back. A little background, the Bullitt I currently have is my second Mustang. She's my baby, every penny I made every summer during high school went towards her. Anyways I'm currently a college student and it looks like I'll be going overseas for about 9-10 months this coming fall. While I've been tempted to let her go since college has taken up pretty much ALL my Mustang time, I've managed to keep her in my possession these past couple years.

Now here's the million dollar question: Should I try to sell her before I go on exchange? Or should I just have her stored for the duration?

Here's the cons with the storage issue:
Chances are it'll be outside (don't worry, it would be covered and probably under a tarp canopy of some sort).
For those who don't know, in AK the temperatures will range from 65F to probably -40F (during the time I'm away, Sept to Juneish).
The vehicle most likely won't be driven during the duration, I don't want to get it all winter prepped just for starting and driving it up now and then.
Problems with car may arise from storage.
Deappreciation of car value. Car's been kept mainly stock so I'd probably be able to fetch a decent price for it if I've sold it now.

Pros are of course I get to keep the Bullitt . But then again, I've always wanted to dink around with aftermarket parts and exhaust...don't really want to do that to a semi-rare car. So if I did sell it I'd probably come back and just buy a used GT that would be a little bit more mod appropriate.