Hello, I am new to muscle cars! A few questions if yall dont mind. - Ford Mustang Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012 Thread Starter
Rookie

Hello, I am new to muscle cars! A few questions if yall dont mind.

Hey guys, I currently own a 2005 sentra ser spec v, but am ready to move to the muscle car world! I dont really know anything about the best way to modify these cars, I am currently looking at a 94-96 style, black with intake and exhaust already on it.
Thoughts or advice on engine/general modifications.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012
Banned
4.6L Member

I would shoot for a 96-98 same body style, little bit better money/hp ratio.

I wouldnt look for one with intake. that can be bought for cheap. if you can find one with a FULL exhaust that would be best, exhaust is expensive and free's up a nice amount of ponies.

if you could find one with a complete or partial PI swap thats even better.

the 96-98 have a few "performance lacking" things that ford overlooked or didnt care about when trying to get the new motor out.

basically the only/best mods you can do to this car before hitting major power mods, bottles and blowers.

pi intake
pi cams(any nice aggressive cams)
pi heads( optional, raises compression and only nets like 5-10HP)
nice complete exhaust(gets rid of factor 6 cat midpipe)
tuner with tune( stock tune is a performance SUCKER)
gears(stock gears are 2.73 or 3.27) some nice 3.73/4.10's go a long way.

once you do that, thats about the most power your going to gain from this model year stang, and should only cost about 2K to do all that, on top of the base gt you buy.

I'm not an expert on pushrods, but the 94-95 are pushrods and I know nothing about them, all i know is they dont make anywhere near as much power money wise.

hopefully this helped.

post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012
Apprentice